Missing Guide Images

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
User avatar
alhaunts

Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 5:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Missing Guide Images

#1

Post by alhaunts » Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:06 pm

Anybody else notice an increase lately in the number missing guide images? There always were a few, but for the past couple of weeks it seems to have increased to maybe 5 percent or more are now blank. Even the successful image requests seem to take a bit longer (1-2 seconds) than before. Cached images are still instantaneous.

This is on v1.7.0.9

Something up on SD's end?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6616
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Nov 18, 2021 2:12 am

Yah, I've noticed for about a month or more. It's especially noticeable right now with all the Christmas programs getting near and they don't have any artwork. I just haven't had time to dive into the JSON returns from SD to pass along to them on where to look.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

purpleb

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by purpleb » Sun Nov 21, 2021 5:48 pm

Same for me. I have 2 Win7 systems and guide logos come up after the guide is listed. On one system, part of them come up and finally the rest come up. On my Win10 system, the logos and guide pictures do not come up, but the description does. If I do the MCE tweaks, I see them after that, then the next time after that, I do not see the logos and picture but it does have the description. It has been happening for about a month. Before that, no issues like that at all.

Also, I cannot get 10 lines of listings on a screen, only 8 since the past month.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6616
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Sun Nov 21, 2021 6:01 pm

The station logos are a different thing and I addressed that in the latest release. The service created to handle image requests over http would be too slow responding to WMC for station logos... WMC will request all logos of the visible guide +1 as soon as you open the guide. The service could only handle 4 (or 6 depending on what version epg123 you are running) at a time. Even though the response time was really quick, WMC would "time out" on them and not display the station logos. With 1.7.0.10, I am once again embedding the station logos in the mxf file so that will no longer be an issue.

There is a similar issue with the movie guide in that it will request 24 images at the same time. This will mostly only be an issue on the first time it populates and doesn't already have some poster art cached.

Not sure what is going on with the Win10 system. Does it have network discovery turned on so it can find your running epg123 service? If it can't resolve the IP address of the computer running the service then you won't get any images.

The Tweak WMC still works without a problem. Have you run another program that can also change the number of lines in the guide? There is MCE Reset Toolbox I think that breaks the ability to change the guide layout because they basically corrupt the dll in the GAC.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

purpleb

Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by purpleb » Sun Nov 21, 2021 7:43 pm

Ok, on the win10 system I do have network discovery on. I am running NordVPN software and bring up MCE before that links to a server. I guess now, I will not start MCE until I get the NordVPN software linked, and then start MCE.

I do not run anything else software for MCE except for EPG123. In the past few month, the largest option for rows is 8. 10 is not an option for me, 8 is the limit. I have lived with it but 10 was great. That happened on the Win7 and Win10 systems.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6616
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Sun Nov 21, 2021 9:49 pm

The number of rows available is dynamic based on you selections above it. Reduce the font size, more rows. Reduce the row height, more rows.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
alhaunts

Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 5:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by alhaunts » Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:08 pm

The missing guide images thing seems to be getting worse here. I'm up to about 25 percent missing images now.

Here's an example from the Server Log:

[1/18/2022 6:40:38 AM] /image/9c19847e6255479252b2b2d4b92fdd90957df4c420d7c98f34cd4fa19e724987.jpg: 404 Not Found
{"response":"IMAGE_NOT_FOUND","code":5000,"serverID":"20141201.web","message":"Could not find requested image. Post message to http:\/\/forums.schedulesdirect.org\/viewforum.php?f=6 if you are having issues.","datetime":"2022-01-18T11:40:38Z"}

Should I be bugging Schedules Direct about this?

zmiata

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2021 11:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by zmiata » Fri Jan 28, 2022 7:24 pm

alhaunts wrote:
Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:08 pm
The missing guide images thing seems to be getting worse here. I'm up to about 25 percent missing images now.

Here's an example from the Server Log:

[1/18/2022 6:40:38 AM] /image/9c19847e6255479252b2b2d4b92fdd90957df4c420d7c98f34cd4fa19e724987.jpg: 404 Not Found
{"response":"IMAGE_NOT_FOUND","code":5000,"serverID":"20141201.web","message":"Could not find requested image. Post message to http:\/\/forums.schedulesdirect.org\/viewforum.php?f=6 if you are having issues.","datetime":"2022-01-18T11:40:38Z"}

Should I be bugging Schedules Direct about this?
Same here, I posted in the SD forums topic pointed in the error, although I am pretty sure it is pointing to the wrong forum section ...

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6616
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by garyan2 » Fri Jan 28, 2022 7:49 pm

If you have the option to 'Include season and sport event images' images selected, then the IMAGE_NOT_FOUND problem is with the season image links that were cached. You can clear your cache and do another update to remove the season images from the cache so that you get just the series images.

Earlier this month, SD did a rebuild of their images which fixed an issue, but we lost all the season images and will get the image not found problem from the links cached in the epg123 cache. In addition to losing the season images currently, there are a number of series that aren't fully populated, so they might be missing but you won't get the image not found errors.

One thing you can try before clearing the cache, and I actually recommend, is to disable the option to 'Include season and sport event images', perform an update, and then reenable the option if you want and perform an update again. This should get all the images as best they can be right now.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

zmiata

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2021 11:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by zmiata » Fri Jan 28, 2022 8:32 pm

Gary, you are great! That worked (with clearing the cache, didn't work without it).
Thank you!

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6616
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by garyan2 » Fri Jan 28, 2022 8:44 pm

Yah, you're right. Just disabling and reenabling the option won't work. I forgot I checked that and my code will keep the season images in the cache even if they are not used.

Thanks.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
alhaunts

Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 5:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by alhaunts » Sat Jan 29, 2022 12:25 pm

Sadly, it didn't work here. Tried both methods. Still missing about 20 percent of the images.

This is on Windows 7 x64, if it matters.

Post Reply