New WMC computer recommend spec

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
Post Reply
Peter167

Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

New WMC computer recommend spec

#1

Post by Peter167 » Wed Feb 03, 2021 6:44 pm

Hi

I have an aging Shuttle PC with an Athlon CPU and a BTG dual TV card, which won't record HD channels. The video o/p is something like 64MB lol,so looks really washed out on my new Smart TV. I'd like to build a new system with HD video and dual tuner capable HD with a case that has a small footprint. Thanks in advance.

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by StinkyImp » Thu Feb 04, 2021 4:49 pm

Peter167 wrote:
Wed Feb 03, 2021 6:44 pm
Hi

I have an aging Shuttle PC with an Athlon CPU and a BTG dual TV card, which won't record HD channels. The video o/p is something like 64MB lol,so looks really washed out on my new Smart TV. I'd like to build a new system with HD video and dual tuner capable HD with a case that has a small footprint. Thanks in advance.
My %.02$ Chronodollars...

I've been using one of these for a few years with great success. I run an HDMI cable directly from the PC's onboard port into a 4K TV and am happy with the upscaling, even for 480p video.

I installed Win 7 Pro 64, upped the RAM to 8GB and installed four Hauppauge tuners. It records four programs simultaneously with no effort and has a small footprint.

I went CHEAP because I wanted a Win 7 machine for WMC but don't know how long it will be viable (i.e. it's cheap enough to be disposable).

Peter167

Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Peter167 » Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:16 pm

Hi Thanks for your reply, that looks like a reasonably good solution,but I don't mind upping the CPU to an i5 given that it is a very old generation cpu. Is it the small form factor one that you have as the site doesn't specify the size 11.4 x 3.7 x 12.3 inches/ (29.0 x 9.3 x 31.2 cms)? I assume that has on board graphics, leaving 2 PCIe slots? Do you have a link or the TV card?
Thanks again.

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by StinkyImp » Fri Feb 05, 2021 7:31 pm

I should probably mention that my setup is only used to watch and record OTA signals and NOT cable or satellite! ;)

Peter167 wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:16 pm
Hi Thanks for your reply, that looks like a reasonably good solution,but I don't mind upping the CPU to an i5 given that it is a very old generation cpu.
The one I purchased came with Win 7 Pro 64 installed. I think it was an "off-lease" computer. I use mine 99% for WMC and not much else. I haven't had any issues with speed or performance with the i3.

Peter167 wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:16 pm
Is it the small form factor one that you have as the site doesn't specify the size 11.4 x 3.7 x 12.3 inches/ (29.0 x 9.3 x 31.2 cms)?
Yes. The one I have is the small form factor with the dimensions you've listed. Here are the specs on my exact unit (3010 SFF).

Code: Select all

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/5/2021, 12:10:43
       Machine name: NEW-HTPC
   Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_ldr.170427-1518)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
       System Model: OptiPlex 3010
               BIOS: BIOS Date: 11/16/16 10:11:12 Ver: A17.00 
          Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3220 CPU @ 3.30GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.3GHz
             Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8094MB RAM
          Page File: 7150MB used, 9036MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
   User DPI Setting: 144 DPI (150 percent)
 System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Enabled
     DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode
Peter167 wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:16 pm
I assume that has on board graphics, leaving 2 PCIe slots?

That is correct. It has the onboard Intel HD Graphics controller with an HDMI port. I used one of my PCIe slots for a Sound Blaster Audigy card I had laying around and use it to pump 5.1 Dolby through my receiver.

Code: Select all

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics
       Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
          Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
           DAC type: Internal
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0152&SUBSYS_05851028&REV_09
     Display Memory: 1696 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 64 MB
      Shared Memory: 1632 MB
       Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (59Hz)
       Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
      Monitor Model: U550CV-UMR
         Monitor Id: SPT15B9
        Native Mode: 3840 x 2160(p) (30.000Hz)
        Output Type: HDMI
        Driver Name: igdumdim64.dll,igd10iumd64.dll,igd10iumd64.dll,igdumdim32,igd10iumd32,igd10iumd32
Driver File Version: 10.18.0010.4425 (English)
     Driver Version: 10.18.10.4425
        DDI Version: 11
       Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
  Driver Attributes: Final Retail
   Driver Date/Size: 6/15/2016 11:32:16, 11051456 bytes
        WHQL Logo'd: n/a
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
  Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-4212-11CF-D162-8F25B4C2C735}
          Vendor ID: 0x8086
          Device ID: 0x0152
          SubSys ID: 0x05851028
        Revision ID: 0x0009
 Driver Strong Name: oem11.inf:IntelGfx.NTamd64.6.1:iIVBD_w7:10.18.10.4425:pci\ven_8086&dev_0152&subsys_05851028
     Rank Of Driver: 00E60001
        Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeWMV9_C ModeVC1_C 
       D3D9 Overlay: Supported
            DXVA-HD: Supported
       DDraw Status: Enabled
         D3D Status: Enabled
         AGP Status: Enabled
Peter167 wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:16 pm
Do you have a link or the TV card?
Thanks again.
I use two Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD USB tuners for a total of four tuners.

Other info:

I got a screaming deal on a 240GB SSD and use that as my OS drive. That made a world of difference!

I use an old Logitech wireless keyboard/mouse combo to control it (NO remote).

I removed the DVD drive and installed an 8TB "recording" drive I found online for a few bucks.

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1539
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by DavidinCT » Sat Mar 06, 2021 8:57 pm

Peter167 wrote:
Wed Feb 03, 2021 6:44 pm
Hi

I have an aging Shuttle PC with an Athlon CPU and a BTG dual TV card, which won't record HD channels. The video o/p is something like 64MB lol,so looks really washed out on my new Smart TV. I'd like to build a new system with HD video and dual tuner capable HD with a case that has a small footprint. Thanks in advance.
Keep in mind. Windows Media Center was designed to run with single core CPUs. So any 3-5 year old desktop should work perfectly and in HD. If your just looking to do 1080p max, then out of the box 95% of them will do fine. If your trying do 4K, then you need a bigger video card to handle it (or a video card that has native h265 support).

Also keep in mind, newer processors do not work with Windows 7 or 8.1 due to Microsoft not adding support for them because they want everyone on Windows 10 (in a nut shell).
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

Post Reply