Alexa issue with DHCP Reservations

Talk about setting up your home network.
Post Reply
MartyW

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:32 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Alexa issue with DHCP Reservations

#1

Post by MartyW » Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:42 am

Hi,

I have an Echo Dot and i have assigned it a static IP in my Cisco 887 router the same way i have assigned all my other devices a static IP address, The echo will not pick up the static ip address at all yet all my other devices pick there static IP's up with no issue. Has anyone seen this problem or got any advice how i can resolve it.

Thanks

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2783
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Scallica » Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:28 pm

Are you sure you created a DHCP reservation using the wireless adapter's MAC address (and not the Bluetooth MAC address)?
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

MartyW

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:32 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by MartyW » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:04 pm

Scallica wrote:Are you sure you created a DHCP reservation using the wireless adapter's MAC address (and not the Bluetooth MAC address)?
Yes 100% sure as a did a network scan and made sure of the MAC that way

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2783
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Scallica » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:16 pm

The next thing I would do is install a software DHCP server on your PC and see if reservations work there. Then, you can determine if the issue is on the Echo side or the router side.

Another thing you can do is create a dedicated wireless SSID for the Echo to connect to, and assign it a DHCP range of 1 IP address.
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6610
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:28 pm

The only time I've seen something like this is when the appliance doesn't request an IP lease if the current one has not expired. Basically, if the address it got with DHCP doesn't expire for 7 days, then it will keep using until forced to request a new address or renew the current address.

Typically a power cycle of the appliance will force that request.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

Venom51

Posts: 566
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Cumming,GA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Venom51 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:52 am


Post Reply