EPG123 says there's a recording in progress

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
technodevotee

Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

EPG123 says there's a recording in progress

#1

Post by technodevotee » Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:04 am

EPG123 says there's a recording in progress but there isn't, there was what seemed to be a hung instance of ehrec.exe however.

Code: Select all

[13/08/2020 08:26:23]  Beginning epg123 client execution. version 1.3.9.30
[13/08/2020 08:26:23] ===============================================================================
[13/08/2020 08:26:23] [ INFO] Beginning epg123 client execution. 2020-08-13 07:26:23Z
[13/08/2020 08:26:23] [ INFO] Import: True , Match: False , NoLogo: False , Force: False , ShowProgress: False
[13/08/2020 08:26:24] [ INFO] Recording in progress: 06:30 PM - 07:30 PM on channel 102 BBC2HD -> Great Continental Railway Journeys - Berlin to Stuttgart
[13/08/2020 08:26:24] [ INFO] Delaying import while WMC is recording. Will check recording status again at 09:26:24
[13/08/2020 09:26:24] [ INFO] Recording in progress: 06:30 PM - 07:30 PM on channel 102 BBC2HD -> Great Continental Railway Journeys - Berlin to Stuttgart
[13/08/2020 09:26:24] [ INFO] Delaying import while WMC is recording. Will check recording status again at 10:26:24
My PC isn't going to sleep while this is happening of course:

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -requests
DISPLAY:
None.

SYSTEM:
[PROCESS] \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\ehome\ehrec.exe
[SERVICE] \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\System32\svchost.exe (Schedule)
Windows will execute '\epg123_update' scheduled task that requested waking the computer.
[PROCESS] \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Program Files (x86)\epg123\epg123Client.exe

AWAYMODE:
[PROCESS] \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\ehome\ehrec.exe
[PROCESS] \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Program Files (x86)\epg123\epg123Client.exe
EXECUTION:
None.

PERFBOOST:
None.

ACTIVELOCKSCREEN:
None.
I killed the ehrec.exe, epg123client processes, restarted the receiver service and ran the scheduled task manually but it still says there's a recording in progress.

I can't see a way round this so I ran the import manually.

Where is the software getting this information from?

Any suggestions please?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5247
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:45 pm

I get the recording state from the WMC database. If it says there is a recording in progress, or a recording initializing, then it gets flagged. It looks like I'm going to need to check the start/stop times to validate the flag... never seen this before.

As far as suggestions, I'm assuming you already reboot the machine?
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

technodevotee

Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by technodevotee » Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:05 pm

I have now. I'll see what happens tomorrow.

BTW, As far as I know, the recording that it said was happening was never scheduled and never occurred.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5247
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:15 pm

Well that's disturbing... you got a ghost recording in the database. If it doesn't work on next update, I can release a quick update to check the end time of any recording "in progress" to validate it.

BTW, I see your note on your signature that the WMC files won't be available after mid-September. Do you need a place to host them?
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

technodevotee

Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by technodevotee » Thu Aug 13, 2020 10:02 pm

There's a bit more to it than that.

My stuff was only ever workarounds until more elegant and long lasting solutions could be found. I think that has mostly happened with V8.8.4 and I believe that Kevin is working on V8.8.5, which will incorporate some fixes that allow it to be used with DVB-Link and resolve the problem with MSSQLLite. Hopefully, he will also incorporate some of the changes I made in V13.

I really do think that if at all possible, people should be using the latest version of WMC with the old DLLs tucked away safely in ehome rather than introducing vulnerabilities into the system by backdating common system DLLs. This is what I have been recommending of late.

Also, while V13 works for me, it is high maintenance. I had to run replace_dlls yet again tonight after an update was installed and I think it is time it went away because, all the time it is available, it might be stopping people from installing Kevin's version.

I have been surprised at how many times things have been downloaded though - it takes quite a hammering every single day. My hosting is due for renewal in September though and I need to make a decision about the future of the stuff on there. I hoped my note might start a discussion about where we go from where we are to inform the decision.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5247
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Thu Aug 13, 2020 11:11 pm

That's kind of what I figured. Kevin did a pretty good job with 8.8.4, I will like to see what 8.8.5 looks like. I do agree that it would be best to put those "at-risk" system dlls in the ehome folder which would mitigate a lot of problems on each OS update. It would be best to make a Win10 WMC install as stand-alone as much as possible.

When it gets close to mid-September, I'll make sure to grab your files to make them available to the community on my site if they are still needed. Speaking for myself, and probably a lot of other folks, I appreciate everything you've done with this.

I've been asked a couple times to put together a Win10 WMC solution on my website... maybe I'll start looking at it as well. I haven't been following the mydigitallife threads at all, which is probably for the best, but I may start playing around with it. EPG123 is at a pretty good spot right now until SD changes over to their new API.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

technodevotee

Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by technodevotee » Fri Aug 14, 2020 7:41 am

It worked fine this morning.

I'm going to have a think about the other matter we discussed.

Post Reply