Can't Edit Username / Password

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
marvin-miller

Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:50 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Can't Edit Username / Password

#1

Post by marvin-miller » Mon May 15, 2017 11:05 pm

Hi!

I'm using EPG123 and I had to change my SD account credentials. So I went into the EPG GUI but the boxes are greyed out. How do I change them?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:24 pm

Hmmm. If epg123 can't log you in, then the boxes should be enabled to make changes.

If that is not the case, you can edit the epg123.cfg file. The file is XML so you can open it with notepad and within the first few lines there should be your account user name and password hash. Delete the account information, save, and open epg123 again.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

marvin-miller

Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:50 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by marvin-miller » Mon May 15, 2017 11:41 pm

Well this is odd......

All I did was remove my username/pw from the file you mentioned. I then fired up EPG123 and everything was missing! All settings were gone.

OK, so I entered my username/password, hit login, re-selected all the important things, hit save and apply....

Went into Media Center, it said I had not enabled any channels. So I re-enabled all my previous channels....

I go into the scheduled tasks and tell it to do an update. Within about 5 seconds it says it's done.....

Go back into Media Center and look at the guide - No Guide Data. Go back into EPG GUI, tell it to save and apply and it says it can't - there's a schedueld task running. I look at task manager and there's nothing running....

Am Re-booting system now....

marvin-miller

Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:50 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by marvin-miller » Mon May 15, 2017 11:47 pm

Re-booted and Media Center shows no channels are active. GO back into EPG GUI and see Red Light. Turn red light to Green and now it seems to be doing something :oops:

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:55 pm

I'll try to recreate your initial problem and report back on that. If I can recreate, I'll keep going and see what I see.

I haven't touched that code since probably March last year, so there may be something there.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:56 pm

What version are you running?
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by garyan2 » Tue May 16, 2017 12:52 am

Okay, recreated the initial problem and will be fixed in next release. I'm not sure what happened after that to cause you to lose your settings.

I'll keep looking, but may be moot since I fixed the original problem. 8-)
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

marvin-miller

Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:50 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by marvin-miller » Tue May 16, 2017 1:14 am

1.1.4 (a little late but....)

I'm just glad I didn't loose my upcoming recordings or my recordings history. It was looking pretty scarey for a moment there :shock:

If the logic behind the greyed out credentails button is that they cannot be changed if they are correct, that's a cool thing to do but.....it really caused me some issues. Same thing with the red light.

Perhaps not greying out the credentials button, while not as cool programatically, might be a better strategy?

Either way, as always, thanks very much for your prompt reply and help! :clap:

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by garyan2 » Tue May 16, 2017 1:27 am

The logic is there to lock the username and password while logged in to Schedules Direct. When I added the autologin feature, I defaulted the fields to disabled and didn't put anything in place to reenable if login failed.

Not going to be a problem on next release.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

marvin-miller

Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:50 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by marvin-miller » Tue May 16, 2017 1:31 am

I get it now (why you did it) - and it makes sense. That's the thing with software, it's really hard to foresee every kind of eventuality.

What I was doing was testing out the new SageTV release and I needed my username & password. Of course, I could not recall the password so I just reset it, meaning I had to change the one in EPG 123 and thus.... the issue :lol:

User avatar
AJNegron

Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by AJNegron » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:43 pm

Quick note...using v1.1.8

I am also experiencing the locked username & password (needed to change my password). My system performs a backup and restart nightly, just after performing the EPG123 guide update. So there is little chance of seeing any system error messages.

Your suggestion to edit the .cfg and deleting the username & password worked.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by garyan2 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:22 am

I'll have to check, but that behavior should have been fixed in v1.1.5. If EPG123 failed to login your account, the username and password fields should have been accessible and editable.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

devonaire45

Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by devonaire45 » Tue Jan 24, 2023 5:48 pm

Downloaded and installed "latest" epg123. It runs, but is asking for a password. Not sure how to get by this as I have no pw, userid. Looked for epg123.cfg. Not on the disk.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6949
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by garyan2 » Tue Jan 24, 2023 7:11 pm

The username/password is your Schedules Direct account. There is no .cfg file until you successfully login.

Sent from my SM-G781U1 using Tapatalk

- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

Post Reply