Codec pack or not?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
arcsum68

Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:01 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Codec pack or not?

#1

Post by arcsum68 » Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:07 pm

Simple question to ask but maybe less simple to answer based on some of the reading I have done.

I have used Shark for years on my Win7 MCE box but with Win10 almost everything is playing (still havent figured out why some of it does not).

What is the recommendation here on the forum? Yay or nay?

Thanks!

Edgar_in_Indy

Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 3:01 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Edgar_in_Indy » Tue Feb 08, 2022 6:43 am

If it's working fine I would say don't mess with it. I always used K-Lite when I was running WMC on Windows 7, but when I installed Windows 10 I followed the guide for WMC and installed Shark as recommended. For whatever reason, I ended up with intermittent garbled audio on both live TV and recordings. After trying several other things I finally fixed it by uninstalling Shark and installing K-Lite.

Post Reply