All TV Tuners are currently in use

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
Pontic_Greek

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:10 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

All TV Tuners are currently in use

#1

Post by Pontic_Greek » Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:16 am

Hi Guys
I fresh installed Windows 10 (latest version) and installed the WMC 8.8.5 and attempted to get Live TV working using the instructions in the text file which was GunnerHook's tutorial

I was able to scan and find all the channels, however when i click "live tv" or select any channel, it shows this error:
"All TV Tuners are currently in use, to change the channel select the programme or recording that you want to stop"
However there is nothing to stop. It is just blank.

Is this a known bug? Or have I done something wrong in the setup?

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by technodevotee » Tue Jan 18, 2022 4:46 pm

which tuner(s) are you using?

Pontic_Greek

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:10 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Pontic_Greek » Wed Jan 19, 2022 12:03 am

technodevotee wrote:
Tue Jan 18, 2022 4:46 pm
which tuner(s) are you using?
I have a DVICO FusionHDTV DBV-T Plus

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by technodevotee » Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:30 am

Does the system record TV programmes?

Pontic_Greek

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 12:10 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Pontic_Greek » Thu Jan 20, 2022 2:47 am

No it doesn't, it scans and finds channels but it cannot record or view live tv

I ended up reinstalling windows 7, i thought having WMC 8.8.5 was gong to be a viable solution to a MC in windows 10 but seems like it is not.

I put it down to the drivers not being up to date enough. THeyh are designed for Vista and work fine in 7, but maybe too old to work right for 10

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by technodevotee » Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:07 am

Yeah, it seems like most of the people who have trouble with 8.8.5 are using older tuners.

I think it is something to do with the functionality of EncDec having been replaced by MSVidCtl.

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 581
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by StinkyImp » Sun Jan 23, 2022 2:01 pm

technodevotee wrote:
Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:07 am
Yeah, it seems like most of the people who have trouble with 8.8.5 are using older tuners.
Just curious... Is there a list of supported tuners known to work with 8.8.5 on Win 10/11?

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by technodevotee » Sun Jan 23, 2022 7:10 pm

Not to my knowledge.

Post Reply