Page 17 of 17

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 6:48 pm
by hotfart77
Unfortunately I can't think of anything else I changed around 2 months ago. Internet connection is the same, PIA is the same. I'll follow up when I do get around to doing a fresh install.
IT Troll wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:55 pm
Interesting, I guess that's not it then. I am really struggling to explain why you are getting an empty response back from TheTVDB when everything appears fine. The fact that you have two machines doing this makes it unlikely this is a local database corruption.

Can you think of anything you changed around two months ago?

Failing that, my only suggestion is that fresh install when you get to it.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:10 pm
by IT Troll
Hotfart wrote:
Thu Jan 28, 2021 3:45 am
I would GLADLY pay for a subsciption! Of course, that's assuming they don't want an insane amount for a subscription.
A personal subscription to TheTVDB v4 API costs $11.99 per year. They have said you can earn a free subscription by contributing to the database, but this scheme still hasn't launched yet. :thumbdown:

They originally said that the old (free) APIs would be deprecated at the end of March. Deprecate doesn't mean dead, so we will just have to see what happens.

RTVHD uses a third-party library to access TheTVDB which doesn't currently support v4. I have reached out to the author of that to see if they plan to update it.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:13 pm
by hotfart77
IT Troll wrote:
Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:10 pm
Hotfart wrote:
Thu Jan 28, 2021 3:45 am
I would GLADLY pay for a subsciption! Of course, that's assuming they don't want an insane amount for a subscription.
A personal subscription to TheTVDB v4 API costs $11.99 per year. They have said you can earn a free subscription by contributing to the database, but this scheme still hasn't launched yet. :thumbdown:

They originally said that the old (free) APIs would be deprecated at the end of March. Deprecate doesn't mean dead, so we will just have to see what happens.

RTVHD uses a third-party library to access TheTVDB which doesn't currently support v4. I have reached out to the author of that to see if they plan to update it.
Good info to know. Keeping my fingers crossed that a solution is found!

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2021 4:20 pm
by StinkyImp
hotfart77 wrote:
Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:13 pm
Keeping my fingers crossed that a solution is found!
My $.02$ quatloo latinum opinion...

During the time period between when Mark did his last update and when dopdahl and IT Troll performed their wizardry, I found that the RTVHD database could be easily updated using Windows "Snipping Tool" and the portable version of "DB Browser for SQLite".

During that time I had to disable the update functions in RTVHD.

I only record OTA so the PSIP stream has most everything to populate an episode (series, episode name, description, channel, date, time, etc). I'd go to thetvdb website and if I couldn't right-click save, I'd "snip" the poster and backdrop I wanted, save them to a dedicated folder, and then assign them to the series in the RTVHD settings. That's a one-time operation per series.

After that I'd use the DB Browser to quickly update all the episodes with season and episode numbers (if I was in the mood). That's pretty much all I needed to keep RTVHD up to the SO's standards (and that's all that really matters). ;)

If things go south with the v4 transition, I'll probably use these procedures again until WMC finally gives up the ghost.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2021 7:35 pm
by hotfart77
Yeah, luckily any new OTA series that I record within Media Center will still display within RTVHD, just with the artwork missing (they show as a blank box with text of the series name). Also, the correct metadata does display (guessing RTVHD may just pull metadata directly from dvr-ms files). Since the basic functionality is still there, I won't stress too much over the missing artwork for OTA recorded shows...at least I can see them and play them within RTVHD.

I'm like you and will probably keep using Media Center as long as possible, assuming something better doesn't come along. But in any case, what you said is great info to have in case things go completely south with the V4 transition. Appreciate your insight!

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:58 pm
by IT Troll
Yeah the workaround is pretty good for OTA recordings. It is not so convenient for imported media files though as they don’t have the metadata.

In some good news, the developer of TheTVDB REST client is going to try adding v4 support. So there is a glimmer of hope.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2021 9:47 pm
by Hotfart
IT Troll wrote:
Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:58 pm
In some good news, the developer of TheTVDB REST client is going to try adding v4 support. So there is a glimmer of hope.
Excellent! Keeping my fingers crossed. Also a big thank you in advance to everyone involved!

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 1:02 am
by IT Troll
The old TheTVDB APIs are getting a bit of a reprieve due to ongoing problems with the new v4 API. This means Recorded TV HD will continue to work as it is for a bit longer. Also gives us more time to work on solution for v4. :thumbup:
TheTVDB wrote:Due to a myriad of issues with the v4 API, we will be extending the cutoff date for all of our older APIs. The new cutoff date will now be October 1, 2021.
Quite a few apps have already moved away from TheTVDB due to the API changes. I feel for the people who are already paying subscriptions fees for v4 access.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:09 pm
by dopdahl
I'll take a look when I have some time unless someone else is taking over the project. If necessary I can probably implement the API myself. Of course, that's less than ideal.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 6:15 pm
by IT Troll
dopdahl wrote:
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:09 pm
I'll take a look when I have some time unless someone else is taking over the project. If necessary I can probably implement the API myself. Of course, that's less than ideal.
The developer of TheTVDB REST client has indicated they will update it for the v4 API, but understandably they want v4 to be stable first. With the ongoing issues and now the extension, I suspect they won't look at it just now.

You never know, v4 may get another extension, or may have a free personal tier once it eventually gets released. This extension also gives other apps longer to switch to another provider (TMDb) which is improving it's TV data.

Whatever the outcome. Your assistance, when it comes to it, would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 10:09 pm
by dopdahl
The TVDBSharper library is open source and modifiable... It's just a matter of reworking it to the new api... which shouldn't be a super massive project.

Anyway, we'll wait and see. At the end of the day, I'll fix it up if necessary.

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

Posted: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:22 pm
by dopdahl
Coming in late here regarding the add series issue. It may be fruitful to check the windows event log after the failed series lookup. Might be something logged in there.

The only other thing that comes to mind is changes to your network adapter settings that may have caused issue... I'd ensure you have have the latest network adapter drivers installed. And that you haven't changed anything in there to optimize performance like rx or tx buffer sizes and the like.

I'd also make sure you haven't configured an alternate DNS server... not likely an issue though.

TheTVBD doesn't seem to allow developer web-based access to the legacy v3 API anymore without a subscription, so the API can't be tested through their interface directly. Though it's obviously working fine for everyone else.

Since v4 seems inevitable, I may just buy a subscription.

Very odd behavior with this series issue... Without digging into the user's machine, Windows event log may be the only clues we can get.

As a last resort, the Series can be manually added to the DB using DB Browser, then subsequent episodes should be added OK. Just use an existing Series in DB as your template for manually creating the new one.

Or I guess it could be added through the configuration ui too...