Hardware Update - Ryzen 3200 G in Win 7?

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
Post Reply
AndyS

Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Hardware Update - Ryzen 3200 G in Win 7?

#1

Post by AndyS » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:52 am

I'm running Win 7 WMC on a really old HTPC that I built 11+ years ago for the Win 7 WMC beta. It's actually so old, it's got a Nvidia Nforce 4 chipset if you can believe that. I have a Ceton InfiniTV 4 + an old HDHomeRun 2 tuner box for OTA.

I've upgraded drives and replaced the PSU once or twice, but otherwise I've just blown the dust out every few months and moved on to EPG123 for guide data, but that's it.

I was just thinking about replacing hardware, and figure if I reuse the case and PSU, I can do it for about $300-$350. I was looking at a Ryzen 3 3200G based system, but am concerned about support for Win 7. It looks like the B450 motherboards can be made to work with Win 7 with a bit of work (mainly USB issues), but I'm concerned about the integrated graphics and chip support. I can't find anything saying people have made that CPU working with Win 7. Can't really see that it doesn't, either, but there are no AMD drivers listed for Win 7 on that chip that I've found (graphics wise).

Any ideas?

jachin99

Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by jachin99 » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:49 pm

When I had to install Win 7 on new hardware I used the MSI smart tool to pack the drivers into the images for me. Its actually really easy to do it this way. https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=261560.0

AndyS

Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:05 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by AndyS » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:26 pm

jachin99 wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:49 pm
When I had to install Win 7 on new hardware I used the MSI smart tool to pack the drivers into the images for me. Its actually really easy to do it this way. https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=261560.0
Doing more reading, some of these chips may have a problem with Win 7 due to ACPI. It may be that the chipset is fine, but the chip generation I was looking at isn't.

Does CableCARD recording work with Windows 8.1? I seem to remember it didn't, even though I think I got the updated media license that gave you the codec to play back WMC content.

jachin99

Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by jachin99 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:19 am

I'm sure cablecard recording worked with 8.1. 8.1 broke every extender except the XB360 though. I'm not sure driver support would be easy on 8.1, and I know others have had a really hard time activating 8.1 media pack keys, and there is a stict procedure you have to follow in order to install it. I now the smart tool will pack win 7 with usb 3.0, and M2 SSDs at the very least.

Post Reply