Why did I purchase the HP remote control & IR blaster

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
Post Reply
stevethebrain

Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:03 am
Location: Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton BCH,FL

HTPC Specs: Show details

Why did I purchase the HP remote control & IR blaster

#1

Post by stevethebrain » Thu Nov 11, 2021 5:15 pm

Why did I purchase the HP remote control & IR blaster.
I purchased this remote for some reason probably 8 years ago however
I don’t remember ever using the remote. If I remember correctly I purchased both to get the IR blaser.I think the harmony needed the blaster to receive signals.

Both have been disconnected for years. Basically I use the wireless mouse to control my windows 7 Media center.
So is anyone here using this remote & blaster if yes what functions is it used for?

Edit:my harmory 700 still works but it sucks up the rechargeable batteries very quick
(I think because of the lite screen & has gotton clunckie) also my el cheapo universal rca took a dump.
hp remote w/ blaster - Bing images

Thanks for any remote control advice.

unclebun

Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by unclebun » Fri Nov 12, 2021 2:15 pm

IR Blasters were used to let your remote and WMC control a set-top box for channel changing.

stevethebrain

Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:03 am
Location: Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton BCH,FL

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by stevethebrain » Fri Nov 12, 2021 3:05 pm

so the harmony won't work w/out the ir blaster? is a set top box a cable tv box for changing channels? thanks

unclebun

Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by unclebun » Sat Nov 13, 2021 3:50 am

The Harmony should work if you have the MCE IR Receiver for it to aim at. The IR Blaster takes your remote signal and transmits it via wired sensors to the cable box so it can change channels.

Post Reply