Echo Rack Shelf

Talk with fellow members about Ceton's Media Center Extender.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
bobc_nj

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Echo Rack Shelf

#1

Post by bobc_nj » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:59 am

Not sure if anyone is interested but I see that Middle Atlantic has a custom shelf part number (RSH4A2S CETON ECHO) for the echo. My rack is a mess right now and I have other priorities, but nice to see it listed, maybe eventually. Does anyone know of any other similar (maybe cheaper) alternatives.

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by STC » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:25 am

Um, okay call me stoopido! but why have a rack shelf for the Echo?

:shock:
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
mcewinter

Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Chicago

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by mcewinter » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:33 am

Stoopido! :|

RealCodeGuy

Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:59 pm
Location: Guthrie, Oklahoma

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by RealCodeGuy » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:10 am

And it's only $137.50. A few more buck and I've got another Echo in the family. I'll skip on the rack shelf.

tad

Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by tad » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:49 am

I am definitely interested -- pricey, but might be worthwhile if it can hold several and look slick in 1u.

User avatar
Motz

Posts: 2038
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:28 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Motz » Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:59 am

link?
I Write, Code, and Tweet

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by STC » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:15 am

tad wrote:I am definitely interested -- pricey, but might be worthwhile if it can hold several and look slick in 1u.
Do you have several TVs in one location?
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

rabbit1543

Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 1:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by rabbit1543 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:23 pm

Searching for that part number quickly leads me to believe that this is simply a rackable shelf with a custom cut face plate. I have worked with middle Atlantic products and this is common for custom AV racks.

tad

Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by tad » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:35 pm

STC wrote:
tad wrote:I am definitely interested -- pricey, but might be worthwhile if it can hold several and look slick in 1u.
Do you have several TVs in one location?
Nope. I have TVs around the house, but I have a rack in the basement where I keep all of the equipment. I plan to put my echos down there once my new HDMI matrix switch comes in. I use HDMI over cat5 extenders to send the signal to my TVs. All of my TVs are wall-mounted so there is very little room for gear at the TV location.

tad

Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by tad » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:37 pm

rabbit1543 wrote:Searching for that part number quickly leads me to believe that this is simply a rackable shelf with a custom cut face plate. I have worked with middle Atlantic products and this is common for custom AV racks.
Agreed. And it looks like the price quoted about (~$137) is for the generic part number and not necessarily the echo version. I'd love to see a pic if anyone has one, I was thinking about making something like this myself. Ideally it would hold at least 3 or 4 echos, especially if it's 2U as the middle atlantic page suggests:

CETON ECHO 2 11.5[Inches deep] RSH4?2S CETON ECHO

http://www2.middleatlantic.com/RSH/RSHSearch.asp

bobc_nj

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by bobc_nj » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:35 pm

tad wrote: Ideally it would hold at least 3 or 4 echos, especially if it's 2U as the middle atlantic page suggests:
So I was looking around and became intrigued with this website http://www.frontpanelexpress.com they have a simple CAD application that allows you to design your own stuff (and presumably gives you a price). So I gave it a shot, I probably need to do some more detailed measurements but came up with 2 1u panels. One for a single echo and one for 3. Of course assuming I could do it correctly or maybe get design specs it looks pretty cool. When I clicked on the pricing for the panels they came up as:
Based on price list of: Front Panel Express, LLC
Total: $57.24 Discounts: Quantity 5-9 pieces $51.52 ; 10-19 $45.79 ;pieces 20-29 $45.79

Of course this would only be the panel, no shelf. If it were steel it'd be an easy tack weld to put a small echo size shelf, but the material is aluminum so welding would be more difficult. Never the less, seems someone with more skills than I would be able to make for a nice custom piece.
Attachments
1u Ceton Echo.jpg
1u Ceton Echo Panel
1u Ceton Echo.jpg (6.78 KiB) Viewed 2610 times
1u ceton echo x3.jpg
1U 3 Ceton Echo Panel
1u ceton echo x3.jpg (8.3 KiB) Viewed 2610 times

tad

Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by tad » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:28 am

Very cool, bobc!!

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by STC » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:04 pm

Someone educate me here but why the need for placing multiple Echos in the same rack? Either you have immensely long HDMI cables or are using HDMI over twisted pair or some such other method of feeding multiple TVs in different locations.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by STC » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:06 pm

Then there's the problem of controlling each one separately... CEC no worky yet...
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

volfan6415

Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by volfan6415 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:11 pm

The only reason I can see for this type of thing would be in a sports bar type setting. Where you have multiple TV's in a similar area but want all of the controls in a different area.
t

tad

Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by tad » Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:20 pm

STC wrote:Someone educate me here but why the need for placing multiple Echos in the same rack? Either you have immensely long HDMI cables or are using HDMI over twisted pair or some such other method of feeding multiple TVs in different locations.
Video distribution systems. I have an HDMI matrix switch in the basement and hdmi over cat6 extenders feeding each of my TVs. This allows us to sync up rooms, watch separate content, or *gasp*, switch to a device that isn't media center :-)

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by STC » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:53 pm

How are you managing independent control of each unit?
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
mcewinter

Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Chicago

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by mcewinter » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:02 pm

STC wrote:How are you managing independent control of each unit?
Whole home IR would be one example.

tad

Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:55 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by tad » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:13 pm

mcewinter wrote:
STC wrote:How are you managing independent control of each unit?
Whole home IR would be one example.
correct, with the IR codeset on each echo changed to a unique value as described in another thread

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by STC » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:17 pm

tad wrote:...IR codeset on each echo changed to a unique value as described in another thread
That's the part I didn't know existed.
I imagined you having fun with bits of card and tape stopping stray IR signals jumping to another Echo.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

Post Reply