MMC App gone from Windows Store

Discuss My Media Center for Windows 8, Windows RT, iOS, Android, and WP, and ask Ceton for support.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. There is no official support mechanism for My Media Center.
Post Reply
Dodds

Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

MMC App gone from Windows Store

#1

Post by Dodds » Thu May 22, 2014 4:45 pm

I'm trying to buy/install the MMC App on 2 Windows 8 Laptops.

When I try to purchase, I get the Message, "No Longer Available On Windows Store"

Did they forget to restock the shelves?

vinnyrom

Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 10:27 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by vinnyrom » Thu May 22, 2014 10:30 pm

Same issue here. It was available last week...

Dodds

Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Dodds » Fri May 23, 2014 11:39 am

Posted on: 22 May 2014 10:55 AM

We have verified that we are able to purchase My Media Center without any sort of issue. We recommend that you contact Microsoft for additional assistance downloading My Media Center.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please let us know.

Thank you,
Ceton Support




User

Posted on: 22 May 2014 09:34 AM
I agree, it's there, but when you try to buy you get the message " NO LONGER AVAILABLE ON WINDOWS STORE"






Posted on: 22 May 2014 09:06 AM

We just opened up the Windows Store on our Windows 8 PC and were able to locate it just fine. Try searching again and let us know if you have any other questions.

Thank you,
Ceton Support




User

Posted on: 22 May 2014 08:41 AM
Where can I get "My Media Center" for Windows 8? It's no longer available on the Windows Store Site..

No information about it on "The Green Button" Site.

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2749
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Scallica » Fri May 23, 2014 12:03 pm

I cannot see the MMC app in the Windows Store on my Surface Pro 2. I tried searching for "Ceton", "My Media Center", and "MyMediaCenter".
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Dodds

Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Dodds » Fri May 23, 2014 5:16 pm

To clarify this slightly, Mon, Tues, & Wed the App was there but you could not buy it. By Thursday afternoon, it was just plain gone from the Windows Store, and any link to it (including the link on the Ceton "My Media Center" page) Gave you "Sorry, this app is no longer available".

Take note of the previous post I made with Ceton's response to me. I guess they have Special Windows 8.2 computers!!!

Dodds

Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Dodds » Fri May 23, 2014 7:02 pm

5-23-14 09:44

We spoke with our engineers this morning and they are aware of the issue. It is a problem with Microsoft that we are currently working to resolve.

If you have any other questions or concerns in the interim, please let us know. We hope you have a wonderful holiday weekend.

Thank you,
Ceton Support

schreibman

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:02 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by schreibman » Sun May 25, 2014 3:17 am

Any progress? I purchased the app and would like to deploy it on my re-staged machine.
Any alternative install methods?

User avatar
mcewinter

Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Chicago

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by mcewinter » Mon May 26, 2014 3:06 am

Remote Media Center is missing in action as well. The only thing in common is that they access the guide and can make and edit record settings.

pohoda

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: San Marcos, CA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by pohoda » Sat May 31, 2014 3:11 pm

Any updates on this? I am also trying to install this.

allencoleman

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by allencoleman » Sun Jun 01, 2014 6:42 pm

I was having trouble connecting from my upstairs Windows 8.1 machine with MMC to my downstairs HTPC with WMC. I decided to uninstall and reinstall my MMC. Microsoft Store stated that I had already purchased it but when I went to re-install, it stated that MMC was no longer available in the Microsoft Store. Please keep us briefed on the status of this issue.

Dodds

Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 4:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by Dodds » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:49 pm

Up Date as of 06-02-14
Hi ,

We are still working with Microsoft and are waiting an update from them. There is not ETA yet as they have not provided us one at this time.

Thank you for your patience as we are also wanting to get our product back in the MS online store.
Ceton Support

Ticket Details
I suggest anyone else that's having issues with this, Also start a support ticket with Ceton. It shouldn't take over a week to put an App back in the store. The more "squeeks" we have might justify some grease.

Dodds
Last edited by Dodds on Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

erkotz

Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by erkotz » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:52 pm

Hi all,
We have been looking into this for a few days and are currently waiting on Microsoft. We expect it to be resolved soon.
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

deihmos

Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:33 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by deihmos » Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:33 am

Any word on this?

erkotz

Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by erkotz » Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:41 pm

deihmos wrote:Any word on this?
We are still trying to get an answer from MS. It's been a...trying...process.
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

User avatar
mcewinter

Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Chicago

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by mcewinter » Fri Jun 13, 2014 7:23 pm

It might be a trademark issue in the app description. Wouldn't a resubmission of the app prod an answer?

User avatar
mcewinter

Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Chicago

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by mcewinter » Sun Jun 15, 2014 12:56 pm

http://myfrem.nl/forum/showthread.php?t ... 00#pid1800

Remote Media Center app was pulled due to supposed negative reviews. ...at the same time mmc was pulled.

Does "trying process" = negative reviews?

IownFIVEechos

Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by IownFIVEechos » Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:44 pm

erkotz wrote:We are still trying to get an answer from MS. It's been a...trying...process.

Yeah we all have been there with our echo's. Hope Microsoft treats you better then how we have been treated. Good luck.

kingwr

Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:48 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by kingwr » Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:06 pm

mcewinter wrote:http://myfrem.nl/forum/showthread.php?t ... 00#pid1800

Remote Media Center app was pulled due to supposed negative reviews. ...at the same time mmc was pulled.

Does "trying process" = negative reviews?
Is Microsoft pulling all apps that access guide data on a WMC computer because of an intellectual property issue with Zap2It?

erkotz

Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by erkotz » Tue Jun 17, 2014 1:53 pm

MS has informed us the app should be available again in the next 24-48 hours. We did not get an explanation on what happened that caused it to be pulled.
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

erkotz

Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by erkotz » Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:49 pm

The app is back up
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

Post Reply