Page 1 of 1

Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:15 pm
by Dean L. Surkin
My Companion remote access is not working today, and I was hoping some people would have recommendations for troubleshooting.

Last night, I tried updating the firmware on my (aging) D-Link DIR-655 (aside: it did not update, but I took the precaution of uploading a backup copy of the system settings, and I verified that port routing was still implemented on the router). Also, I changed out a bunch of wires leading to my router (they were too long, and the WAF had dropped, so I replaced them with proper-length CAT 6 cables and a nicer looking wire management arrangement). I verified all network connections last night.

Today, I tried accessing my HTPC via the Ceton Companion, and it generated the message that it couldn't make the connection. I verified that the password was correct, and that the dlinkddns (which I use to "name" my home network) was properly set, at least as far as I could determine remotely.

I'll be getting home very late tonight and will have limited time available for troubleshooting, so I thought I'd ask for some advice as to what to check first. Thanks to anyone who can help.

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:20 pm
by Motz
Hmmm interesting, if you changed around your router a bit did you verify that the port was still forwarded correctly to the correct IP address of the HTPC? Also did your external IP change at all?

Can you open up the Companion Config and run the port forwarding check under settings.

Is local wifi connection working?

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:22 pm
by Dean L. Surkin
Thanks, Motz, for the amazingly fast reply. I'll check these points when I get home tonight.

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:02 pm
by Motz
it is as if we never sleep over here :)

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:05 pm
by STC
I would also check whether your WAN IP has changed.

If using a dynamic DNS service, it may not have updated. If using an IP address in the Companion config, check that they still match.

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:56 am
by Dean L. Surkin
Thanks, all who helped. I found the problem--the router assigned a different address to my HTPC, so I had to change the port forwarding to match the new address. It works fine now.

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:15 am
by STC
Glad you found it. To prevent it happening in the future you could either set your HTPC to a static IP or if the router supports it, set it up to assign IP's based on MAC address.

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:56 am
by Motz
Nice! Yeah I think DyDNS is great, but if the IP of the HTPC changes it is no good. You can always assign it a static IP though.

Re: Troubleshooting remote access - suggestions?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 2:27 pm
by DanielVivas90
I've recently switched to free AEROADMIN and it looks good.
You may want to do the same as soon as you try.
Hope this helps