Rescanning channels, fails to update the remapped channel to their new frequencies

Post Reply
FreeTV123

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:16 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Rescanning channels, fails to update the remapped channel to their new frequencies

#1

Post by FreeTV123 » Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:00 pm

I use my Media Center daily and certainly enjoy all its wonderful features. Sadly some of those features are no longer available.

Here is my problem
I am not able to update my channel frequencies since about 2020 after the last federal remapping changes to the channel's broadcast frequencies.

History of my system
I am missing some of the higher numbered channels above 29.
I am using Windows 7 Media Center on a Windows 7 operating system, with about 3 different version of Silicon Dust HD HomeRun tuners.
I had been using the Windows 7 Media Center program with its EPG Electronic Program Guide. The I have not looked for a different EPG yet, the old EPG is still there just no updates.
I just manually switch channels with my remote control or program in channels I want to record.

My question
1. How can I reprogram my system so I can access the channels on their new frequencies?
----a--I have done a rescan several times since 2020 but the changed channel frequencies do not update.
2. If that's not possible can someone explain what's failing, is it in Media Center or the HD HomeRun tuners.
3. Last is there a better alternate to Media Center with similar features?

Thanks in advance -- Your support will certainly be appreciated

unclebun

Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by unclebun » Sat Jan 15, 2022 12:27 am

Windows 7's EPG server was discontinued quite some time ago. That's why it no longer gets updates.

You need to get epg123 and redo your TV setup. You'll also need to buy a subscription to Schedules Direct to get the guide data to go through epg123. Read about it in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=99&t=9702

and go to the website to get the latest version (it's changed a lot since 2016). https://garyan2.github.io/

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6577
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by garyan2 » Sat Jan 15, 2022 2:30 am

I think all you will need to do is go to settings->TV->TV Signal->Scan for More Channels, then click the [Delete All] button, followed by [Scan again]. Once it is done, you may have to manually add the VFH channels again if you have any in your area.

https://garyan2.github.io/addchannels.html

Note you can use the features of epg123 client without having a guide subscription with Schedules Direct.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

FreeTV123

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:16 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by FreeTV123 » Thu Jan 27, 2022 6:38 pm

Thanks unclebun & garyan2 -- I certainly appreciate your reply

With the help of reading your posts I found what I was doing wrong. I have not opted to update to epg123 yet but probably will later.

I had been trying to use Media Center’s Add New Channels to correct channels that did not update to the new FCC channel frequency changes.

When Media center asked for the channels new frequency they really wanted the channel number that the channel was now assigned to. For example if channel 29.1, 29.2, 29.3, 29.4 was operating on its original 29 frequency and was moved to a new different frequency you need to input that actual channel number, not the TV channel frequency. In this case channel 29 has been moved to the channel 21 frequency but still retains its 29 name.

You can find the actual channel a station is transmitting on by looking it up on TV Fool https://WWW.TVfool.com which was unfortunately down out of service tonight. I found another source at channel Master https://www.channelmaster.com/pages/tv-antenna-map, just type in your zip code for stations in your area and their RF Channel number. Not the actual frequency just the channel number one or two digit number. In my example station 29 stays 29 but it’s now transmitting on channel 21

Start Media Center and select:

Settings, TV, Guide,

Stop now and select “Edit Channels” if you want to remove the old channel assignments first
---------------Just uncheck the channels numbers that are being updated

Add Missing channels, Add DTV Channel,
--------------Enter the channel example 29.1

Click Next and enter the new frequency’s channel number example 21

Click Next and type in a channel name example ION in this case it’s the name channel 29 used for its 29.1 channel

Repeat procedure for the next channel 29.2, 29.3 and the following channels, use the same 21 for the frequency

Post Reply