Pick a new computer for WMC

Post Reply
lucasbuck

Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:47 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Pick a new computer for WMC

#1

Post by lucasbuck » Mon Nov 15, 2021 3:11 am

My Windows 7 Media Center died. I looked at ebay and facebook marketplace. Would I be better off getting another Win 7 or Win 10 unofficial. I didn't know how well it was working on 10. I guess I just need to make sure it has an express slot for my Ceton and another for the HDMI card. I assume my recordings can't be moved over. Thanks for any advice!

Space

Posts: 2412
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Space » Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:32 pm

If you have copy protected recordings they cannot be moved over, but anything that is not copy protected can be moved with no problem.

Also, if you have copy protected channels, then Win 10 WMC will not be able to record them, so you will need to stick with Win7 or Win8.

stuartm

Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by stuartm » Mon Nov 15, 2021 5:42 pm

I'm not sure your ceton will work in win 10 at all. A read through the win 10 subforum may give you some clues.

lucasbuck

Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:47 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by lucasbuck » Mon Nov 22, 2021 8:15 pm

Thanks for the info!

User avatar
jlader

Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:05 pm
Location: Northern Wisconsin

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by jlader » Fri Nov 26, 2021 2:40 am

Intel 6th gen is the newest CPU you can use w/ Win 7. Ceton echo only works w/ Win 7 - support not available for Win 8 and above. I rebuilt my Media PC last year and stayed w/ 7. Only use for media so security not an issue.
Some say the way to peace is through many arms...

th3luk3st3r

Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2020 11:23 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by th3luk3st3r » Sun Nov 28, 2021 7:40 am

I'll add my 2 cents here too ... ;)

I recently built up a 7MC box with all new components ... That's right, an 11th gen i5 and an NVIDIA GTX1650. The limitations for Windows 7 (and 8 or 8.1 for that matter) on newer CPUs are arbitrary - simply done to sell more licenses of Windows 10 - and tools like WUFUC (https://github.com/chipsi007/wufuc) can bypass these seemingly useless restrictions and allow updates again. :)

My machine runs buttery smooth and I've created a dual boot with Windows 7 and 10, just in case I want to watch something that needs HDR.

joeer77

Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:22 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by joeer77 » Tue Nov 30, 2021 10:01 pm

I would fix your old computer. What are the symptoms? Could just need a new power supply or RAM sticks?

Post Reply