Can't download playready 1.3.10 for Win8

Post Reply
msa4033

Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:46 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Can't download playready 1.3.10 for Win8

#1

Post by msa4033 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:59 pm

Can anyone send me or PM a link for PlayReady v1.3.10 (filename playready-v1.3.2313.10-amd64.msi) for Windows 8? I did a fresh install of Windows 8 and WMC and now my live TV setup gets stuck trying to install PlayReady. That's the short story. Continue reading below for the long version if you want...

I upgraded my HTPC with some better parts that I had laying around. Did a fresh install of Windows 8 and installed Media Center.

My first problem was that Ceton's website is no more and I didn't have a copy of the Ceton setup software. I managed to find a copy from driverguide.com, virus scanned it and took a chance that it was legit. That part seems to have been okay.

Next problem was that the digital cable advisor wouldn't launch. I did a little searching and found the below link to download it from Microsoft

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/wiki/index ... #Windows_7

After I ran the digital cable advisor, I proceeded to setup my ceton tuners. WMC hung on trying to download PlayReady. I found a download link for PlayReady for Windows 8 at the below link but both of the download links are broken.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -windows-8

I did find PlayReady v1.3 for Win7 on Microsoft downloads. That let me complete my live TV setup, but WMC is saying I need to update my version of PlayReady before it will let me watch any live tv.

If anyone has a copy or a link, please PM me. I've spent all of this past weekend trying to get my HTPC working properly again. I've even tried contacting Microsoft support, but they're useless.

jachin99

Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by jachin99 » Mon Sep 30, 2019 5:51 pm

You might ask DavidinCT if he has a copy. If your really determined you can also see if you could extract the assemblies from the win 7 version, and install them manually using Gacutil. I'm not sure if Win 8 PlayReady was updated for .NET 4 or not but I'm almost sure the win 7 version uses .NET 3.5.

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by DavidinCT » Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:29 pm

WIll this help ?

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=5445

I was able to down load 1.3 from Microsoft. I have had play ready issues from even when WIndows 7 WMC was active.

I found a few versions but, They don't show EXACTLY what version they are (all named PlayReadyPC_x64.msi or PlayReadyPC_x86.msi... looking in the file Details, I only see revision number and one is {FC2D40E9-8C19-44CD-9AA9-B5A41E68204A}, I do have a X86 version that I could find quickly but, it's back in the Vista days, as it was with the TV pack (when Vista enabled cablecards). A few others but, no way tot know for sure...

If we have a hash and an exact size, maybe I can narrow it down a little but, with out that, I cant be sure...

Yea, I have some WMC stuff that goes pretty far back.
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by DavidinCT » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:37 pm

FOUND IT !

Shared on my one drive. I'll upload a copy to the site as well...( I uploaded the file to the site as well, Not sure where they are being shared at this point)

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AmHdwDuUvhmjg-kUsoP ... A?e=nCtqYa

I will only share this for a limited time.
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

jwk

Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:25 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by jwk » Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:35 pm

DavidinCT, I've been looking all over for playready-v1.3.2313.10-amd64.msi ... could you possibly re-upload this one more time? I have a onedrive acct.

Thank you

jwk

technodevotee

Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by technodevotee » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:40 pm

isn't that the one that is on my website (in my sig)?

jwk

Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:25 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by jwk » Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:09 am

Why yes, yes it is!!! Thank you!

seang86s

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by seang86s » Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:54 am

I'm having the same issue - continuously failing to install via media center. Do i just install this 1.31 version and then run thru playready again in MCE or just install playready 1.31 and do nothing else? This is a new install of Windows 7.

Interestingly enough, I did a new install of Windows 7 about a week before support was cut off and had no issues installing playready on that machine.

Wmcuser2021

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2021 6:09 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Wmcuser2021 » Tue Oct 12, 2021 6:20 am

Has anybody the ability and kindness to send me the play ready runtime installe version 1.3.10 in fact of the downloadlink on microsoft isnt available anymore.

Best regards
Kevin

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6242
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Tue Oct 12, 2021 6:36 am

- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

Post Reply