Problems with the EPG forum?

The Green Button has risen from the grave. Brought back to life by a few enthusiasts who think the same way you do. Help us make this site better!
Post Reply
User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

Problems with the EPG forum?

#1

Post by IT Troll » Fri Oct 01, 2021 5:48 am

I’m experiencing intermittent load problems in the EPG forums. Sometimes they open up fine but more often I get a server not responding. I think this might be the largest forum in terms of posts.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2751
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by holidayboy » Fri Oct 01, 2021 2:38 pm

I've checked the phpBB logs as well as the main server logs and can't see any obvious errors.

I ran checks on the database too and everything is fine there.

If it happens again, can you maybe try to see if being logged in / out has any effect? Not easy with intermittent issues I know....

We shouldn't have any issues with bandwidth / concurrent users now that we're running on a VPS...
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by IT Troll » Sat Oct 02, 2021 8:14 am

Just experienced it again at around 09:00 GMT. I wasn’t logged in to begin with. Browsed around various forums without issue. I then attempted to navigate to the EPG forum and hit the server not responding issue. Whilst it is in this state I cannot then browse forums which were previously OK. The server is refusing further requests until the problematic one times out.

I then logged in and repeated the same steps which gave the exact same results.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2751
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by holidayboy » Sat Oct 02, 2021 11:07 am

Can you post a link to the forum / subforum that sometimes results in this error please? Is it the main EPG forum here? : viewforum.php?f=96

I've run a few more tests and checked the logs again but nothing obvious is showing up.

If I can reproduce the error then I can hopefully spot something..

Could you also PM me with your IP address to see if I can spot anything unusual in the logs that way?

If anybody else is seeing this then please post here!
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by IT Troll » Sat Oct 02, 2021 2:16 pm

It is that one and also the EPG123 subforum; viewforum.php?f=99

I think it is only doing on my iPad and I suspect it started since iPadOS 15 was installed. So most likely an issue with my client device. Perhaps some of the new privacy measures Apple introduced? I'll have a fiddle with the settings.

Edit: Scratch that theory, it is doing it on my PC with Chrome. The difference is Chrome is more patient and auto retries. I'm finding it is not actually limited to those forums. Seems completely random across the forum. I will DM my IP to you.

TGB.png
TGB.png (8.32 KiB) Viewed 170 times
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2751
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by holidayboy » Sat Oct 02, 2021 2:44 pm

I'll keep looking for any unusual log entries.

Thanks for the ip address

I wonder - could it possibly be a dns issue?

What is the error message that you see on the ipad?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by IT Troll » Sat Oct 02, 2021 11:24 pm

The iPad throws something similar; “Safari could not open the page because the server stopped responding”. Had a real hard time opening and replying to to this post. Took several attempts. It is weird if no one else is having issues.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6242
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Sun Oct 03, 2021 1:15 am

No issues here. Not even a hiccup.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2751
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by holidayboy » Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:38 am

I haven't found anything in the logs - no hits for the IP address that you sent me.

I hate to be the guy to say "have you tried turning it off and on again" :lolno: but.... worth a go maybe if you haven't already?

Are you using custom DNS servers or your ISP's defaults?

Do you also see this issue if you use incognito mode (or whatever its called in Safari)?
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 526
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by StinkyImp » Sun Oct 03, 2021 12:35 pm

Win7 Pro x64
Chrome Version 94.0.4606.61 (64-bit)
DNS Servers 1.0.0.1 + 8.8.8.8

No issues here.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by IT Troll » Sun Oct 03, 2021 8:04 pm

Just tried my iPad at my Dad’s house and it seems fine. So it is looking like an issue with my ISP. Weird that it is affecting this specific forum. I use 1.1.1.1 and 8.8.8.8 at home rather than my ISP.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by IT Troll » Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:25 pm

Back at home and all appears to be working normally again. Must have been some weird configuration issue somewhere in the interweb.
Perhaps whatever it was also broke Facebook. :lol:
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2751
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by holidayboy » Thu Oct 07, 2021 7:21 pm

IT Troll wrote:Back at home and all appears to be working normally again. Must have been some weird configuration issue somewhere in the interweb.
Perhaps whatever it was also broke Facebook. Image
The Facebook outage passed me by without me (and many others I'm sure) even noticing Image

Glad you're able to get your tgb fix without issues now Image

Thanks for the update Image



Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post Reply