RSS Now Active!

The Green Button has risen from the grave. Brought back to life by a few enthusiasts who think the same way you do. Help us make this site better!
Post Reply
User avatar
makryger

Posts: 2132
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:01 pm
Location: Illinois

HTPC Specs: Show details

RSS Now Active!

#1

Post by makryger » Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:55 pm

If you look at the top right side of the forum, you should see "Smartfeed" that will allow you create a customized RSS feed for your preferred reader.
My Channel Logos XL: Get your Guide looking good! ~~~~ TunerSalad: Increase the 4-tuner limit in 7MC

bigpunk

Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by bigpunk » Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:18 pm

Does this board allow you to subscribe to a SINGLE Thread via RSS like the old Greenbutton.com did and WEC does, and if it doesn’t will you be adding that feature?

User avatar
makryger

Posts: 2132
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:01 pm
Location: Illinois

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by makryger » Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:00 am

Doth thou accusest TGB.tv of missing a feature that WEC haseth?! Tis' heresy, saith me!

You can change a bunch of RSS settings by going to "Smartfeed" at the top of the page. One of those settings is "Show bookmarked topics only". Then, whenever you go to a topic, you can click on 'bookmark' at the bottom of the page so it makes it into your feed.

For the record, we had RSS feeds before WEC :P
My Channel Logos XL: Get your Guide looking good! ~~~~ TunerSalad: Increase the 4-tuner limit in 7MC

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by STC » Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:05 am

Quality :D
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

jonwz

Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by jonwz » Mon Jan 11, 2021 6:13 pm

This often breaks for me, seemingly at the start of a new month. No feed entries, and when I test a new smartfeed I get "Cannot load XML: Extra content at the end of the document".

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2739
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by holidayboy » Mon Jan 11, 2021 6:16 pm

Thanks for the feedback.

I'll take a look and see what's going on.



Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

jonwz

Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by jonwz » Mon Jan 11, 2021 6:20 pm

Shazam! Thanks for the quick reply. So much info out there that the only way I can follow anything is if it's in my RSS reader....:)

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2739
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by holidayboy » Tue Jan 12, 2021 7:32 am

I've updated the Smartfeed extension to the latest version and also removed some extra code that I'd added to fix an issue with another aspect of the site (which will now bug me until I fix it again :lol: ). That should clear up the xml parsing error.

I still need to sort out the duplicate entries for the extension in the navigation bar - I'll try to get to it today.

Please let me know if you still see any issues - I ran some quick tests using various options and it seems to be working OK.
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

jonwz

Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by jonwz » Tue Jan 12, 2021 3:47 pm

Hi, I'm now getting smartfeed errors:

Smartfeed error
tags: Smartfeed error
TheGreenButton.tv
Authentication failure. “e” parameter “rIBYwBZjLXtswd6TYbIuc19gDi7xatFELf8lbmFaf7p2Yt9SgL7BnSxjxTA0GlC4MNEVqGPdXnE3tMEMMGGOv5rfJ_pgs1pi9pYetSFZouw.” is invalid with “u” parameter of “9101”. This error may be caused by changing your phpBB password, or due to an upgrade in this Smartfeed software. Please rerun Smartfeed on the forum to generate a correct feed URL.


I reran the Smartfeed to get a new RSS URL, but it's empty of content.

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2739
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by holidayboy » Tue Jan 12, 2021 3:55 pm

That's odd - it's working fine for me here...

Some of the options are slightly different in the latest version of the extension, it defaults to only showing content since your last visit to the forums now I think.

Maybe the new feed will start to populate?

Could you send me a screenshot of the settings you use maybe?

holidayboy [at] thegreenbutton.tv

I'll try to investigate with a new user account to see if it's a permissions thing. It doesn't seem likely though.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

User avatar
holidayboy

Posts: 2739
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:44 pm
Location: Northants, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by holidayboy » Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:00 pm

There is also a setting in Smartfeed to "Reset my last visit date on news feed access"

I honestly don't remember if that was present before but it might be worth trying to set it to no for a test...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

jonwz

Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by jonwz » Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:34 pm

holidayboy wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:00 pm
There is also a setting in Smartfeed to "Reset my last visit date on news feed access"
That worked - THANKS!

Post Reply