The Cupboard under the stairs...

Post Reply
milli260876

Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:56 pm
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks

HTPC Specs: Show details

The Cupboard under the stairs...

#1

Post by milli260876 » Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:53 am

Ok so my rig isn't too fancy but i'll post it up anyway,
I've got a twin tuner tbs 6981, a Nova-2 for freeview
A nova-t500 twin tuner for freeview
and a technisat skystar hd2 which is currently running my motorised satellite dish...
luckily for me al the walls in my house are stud so dropping the cat6 and aerial/sat cable is a doddle.
The advantages of a cheaply put together new build eh???
The skystar is going to lose its motor running status soon as i've just ordered a dreambox clone for the back bedroom which is going to do that.
A FTV Sky card will go in the dreambox to start with and then hopefully Tring for the saturday games unless a cheaper alternative comes up!!
Hoping to feed these via DVBlogic to the MC on my 47" LED LG Infinia that i'm picking up 2moro!! :lol:
sat.jpg
Freesat Dish, Log40 Aerial & Fracarro Penta(Motorised) Dish
sat.jpg (81.23 KiB) Viewed 2512 times
under-stairs.jpg
Where the Magic Happens...
under-stairs.jpg (68.86 KiB) Viewed 2512 times
pc.jpg
Intel Inside....
pc.jpg (168.38 KiB) Viewed 2512 times
Lee

User avatar
makryger

Posts: 2132
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 2:01 pm
Location: Illinois

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by makryger » Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:23 am

I believe that is also where milli's non-muggle nephew lives... the PSU makes a nice in-room heater :)

But very nice! Hopefully one day I'll live in a house where I can wire ethernet cables in walls... unfortunately, right now, its just lined along edges and under beds and through pre-existing holes to get where they need to go :/
My Channel Logos XL: Get your Guide looking good! ~~~~ TunerSalad: Increase the 4-tuner limit in 7MC

milli260876

Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:56 pm
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by milli260876 » Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:54 am

lol... it is pretty warm in there !
went for a bit of overkill on the psu as my last one went pop and took everything with it!!!
Lee

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by STC » Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:49 am

Nice setup :). This has prompted me to take some pics one day when I get time. I just love the gear and ingenuity of our members!
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

User avatar
STC

Posts: 6808
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by STC » Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:05 am

Just a quick followup q; Cat6 STP (don't even talk to me about 6e) has outrageous specs for termination, bend radius, grounding (single point ground), you name it. It's a finicky beast. What kit did you use for copper and end points?
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

milli260876

Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:56 pm
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by milli260876 » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:41 pm

pre-made patch cables...
i'm lazy!!!
Lee

Post Reply