Having trouble converting WMC to CableCard

TechSavvy

HTPC Specs: Show details

Having trouble converting WMC to CableCard

Post by TechSavvy » Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:10 pm

Greetings, TGB Community:

I have been running Windows Media Center for 8 or 9 years and have had a lot of success running in on Windows 7 with 3x Hauppauge HVR-1250s to record my local networks over clear QAM. I finally decided to upgrade to Digital Cable, so I added a CableCard and Tuning Adapter to my HTPC yesterday, along with a Hauppauge DCR-2650 that I had lying around. While the hardware appears to be provisioned with my cable provider (Cox) -- I see authentication, validation, and ready messages for both the CableCard and the TuningAdapter -- I seem to be running into DRM trouble.

I have read dozens of posts -- probably the same ones over and over again -- about:
- Disabling and re-enabling WMC (or all Media Features) in Control Panel > Programs and Features > Enable/Disable Windows Features
- Deleting the DRM key in the registry -- FWIW, the sub-key would delete, but the key "folder" never went away
- Deleting *.hds files, Cache folders, PlayReady and ehome in C:/ProgramData/
- Stopping and starting the Windows WMC Receiver Service (from Services or the command line using 'net stop/start ehrecvr') after the PlayReady update fails
- Manually installing PlayReady 1.3 after downloading the MSI from Microsoft's website
- Installing and running the Digital Cable Adviser
- Rebooting in between certain steps

After uninstalling, reinstalling, uninstalling WMC again, delete the registry key and deleting the files/folders in the prescribed order, the only thing that really seemed to help (after running Digital Cable Adviser) was stopping the receiver service right after the PlayReady update fails in WMC.