Ceton InfiniTV 6 - No InfiniTV Found

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
Cirdecus

HTPC Specs: Show details

Ceton InfiniTV 6 - No InfiniTV Found

Post by Cirdecus » Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:00 pm

Hello everyone!

I've been using WMC in my home for about 5 years now. I started with a 4 tuner Ceton and eventually got a new 6 tuner USB model back in march. I have 2 Media center PC's, one extender and a Server.

About a week ago i started seeing a subscription error on all of my media center PC's when viewing cable. I checked the Ceton Diagnostic utility and noticed that it didn't detect a cable card installed. After rebooting the Ceton it worked ok for maybe 8 hours and then went back into that status.

While I was waiting to get to the nearest cable office to get a replacement card, eventually it stopped working altogether. After another day the diagnostic utility no longer detected the tuner at all. Sometimes after a reboot i can get the Ceton utility and WMC to see the tuner, but after trying to connect and set up the CableCard in WMC, it locks up and eventually says I have no tuner.

I opened a ticket with Ceton to investigate and possibly RMA the box, but after a week, they refuse to RMA the unit and have only replied to me 3 times, despite posting multiple diagnostic logs and screenshots.

I can easily browse to the config of the tuner via a web browser. but the Ceton tool and WMC can't detect it on ANY PC in the house. I've swapped network cables and plugged the Ceton directly into the switch on the router and still nothing. I've uninstalled all anti-virus and firewall software, turned off windows firewall, etc.

I also notice no network bridge or network device installed on any of my media center PCs. Is this normal? I thought i remembered Ceton installing a network adapter of some sort, albeit a virtual one.

Any ideas?