Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 2250 WMC Certified Remote

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
2wheels

HTPC Specs: Show details

Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 2250 WMC Certified Remote

Post by 2wheels » Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:16 pm

Hi all! I purchased the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 2250 with their WMC (Windows Media Center) certified remote. I expect a WMC specific remote to do things like control Hulu via the WMC Hulu plugin or say close WMC. This remote is not capable of these two tasks (Hauppauge has confirmed this). My question to you'll, since I am new to TV tuners and WMC remotes, is whether this is normal? I mean should I expect a WMC remote to handle these two tasks?

Thank you in advance for the feedback.

Ack

Post by Ack » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:44 pm

I have the same tuner and remote. It doesn't control Hulu desktop as far as I know. To stay reasonably priced, I bought the Adesso ARC-1100 remote. It has rudimentary mouse controls that work decent enough for basic navigation around things on the desktop. (I don't use Hulu desktop any longer but just open a browser to access). Newegg has been out of stock for quite awhile but Tiger Direct has them in stock. About $18.00 USD.

2wheels

Post by 2wheels » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:52 pm

Ack wrote:I have the same tuner and remote. It doesn't control Hulu desktop as far as I know. To stay reasonably priced, I bought the Adesso ARC-1100 remote. It has rudimentary mouse controls that work decent enough for basic navigation around things on the desktop. (I don't use Hulu desktop any longer but just open a browser to access). Newegg has been out of stock for quite awhile but Tiger Direct has them in stock. About $18.00 USD.