Win7 Media Center not recording

sandybsimon

HTPC Specs: Show details

Win7 Media Center not recording

Post by sandybsimon » Mon Apr 06, 2015 12:18 am

I have been using Windows Media Center for several years on my laptop. It always works perfectly.

All of a sudden it is no longer actually recording my TV shows. If you look in View Scheduled they are listed for recording. After the show is to be recorded they are not listed for viewing. If I look in history it says that every show was Not Recorded.

I have tried downloading a new Guide. It says it will notify me when download complete. It NEVER completes.

I have also checked all my settings and everything looks fine. I also have plenty of free disk space.

Not sure what to do.

Please help!

Thanks,

Sandy

signcarver

Post by signcarver » Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:04 am

What tuner. if a cablecard tuner, do you have a TA?

I know you said plenty of space but what was WMC's limit on that space?

What type of drive are you recording to? What drive letter? If you had set it to something other than the default location of C: it may have reverted there and doesn't have room?

I move my buffer to another drive and with 12+ tuners WMC appears to calculate the "required" buffer space as part of the space needed so even if I told it to use the entire drive, it fails to record if it ever falls below around 100GB.

Anything reason given for i not recording, anything in event viewer?

Do you have some setting like hd or a specific channel only? I have seen occasionally that guides don't always keep their hd info.

sandybsimon

Post by sandybsimon » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:43 pm

Tuner is WinTV-HVR950Q Hybrid TV Stick.

Drive C, 275 GB of storage. Looks like I have 50% left.

Event Viewer : Recording of The Bad News Bears in Breaking Training began as scheduled on 4/3/2015 7:59:24 PM and was manually stopped on 4/3/2015 8:00:59 PM. (I did not set up or manually stop this program????)