XBox 360 slow to change channels with Live TV

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
lonepalm

HTPC Specs: Show details

XBox 360 slow to change channels with Live TV

Post by lonepalm » Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:53 pm

So as some of you may know/remember, I am completely new to this stuff (I've asked a few questions here). I don't recall if the XBox 360 was slow to change channels when I first set this up, but as I am getting slightly more comfortable with this stuff I am noticing that it is really slow to change channels while watching live tv. Is this typical? I would have thought that if it was always like this, I would have thought this when I first set it up, but I don't recall this lag. It is probably a 5 second lag when changing channels.

DrSmith

Post by DrSmith » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:38 pm

Is anything else laggy? Like pause/resume or back/now playing menu interaction? Or is it JUST channel change that is slow? And your HTPC specs mention 2 Xbox 360s. Do you see the channel change being slow on both?

lonepalm

Post by lonepalm » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:47 pm

DrSmith wrote:Is anything else laggy? Like pause/resume or back/now playing menu interaction? Or is it JUST channel change that is slow? And your HTPC specs mention 2 Xbox 360s. Do you see the channel change being slow on both?
Pause/resume is seems speedy (pause and then almost immediate resume). The back/now playing menu interaction also appears to be snappy. Fast forwarding isn't necessarily slow or laggy, but the picture has a sputtering effect, it isn't a smooth fast forward (not sure if that is normal or not -- it is fairly smooth on the PC, but I realize I am not going to get the exact same experience on an extender). It really is changing channels that is really slow. Yes, both are slow and laggy on changing channels. Thanks!

DrSmith

Post by DrSmith » Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:31 pm