New TV Tuner Setup with Media Center

anoble1

HTPC Specs: Show details

New TV Tuner Setup with Media Center

Post by anoble1 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:56 pm

Hi,
I am new to all this setting up and all. However, I acquired a regular PC with Media Center on it. No remote or anything, custom build. A few days ago I ordered an antenna to get some digital channels.
My question is.... What all do I need to make a tv tuner work in the PC where media center will show the programming guide? I wasn't sure on how the remote would work with the OS and stuff. Suggestions on what all I need to buy to make this current PC work? Suggestions on a cheap card or a good TV Tuner card?

choliscott

Post by choliscott » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:08 am

Hello, first of all welcome to the board..

I have a few questions for you & we can go from there to make some recommendations

1) Since you ordered an antenna, I assume you only have "over the air" signal, or if you have cable, who is your provider?
2) What is the configuration of the computer (CPU, how much ram & video card, size of hard drive, Also does it have an SSD, if so, what is the size?)

Depending on the computer config & if you have cable or over the air will determine what will be recommended.

In order for the computer to work with a remote control, you will need a Windows media center remote, that has a Infrared USB remote dongle. Here is one that I ordered for the dongle: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

Windows media center will provide the channel guide data

anoble1

Post by anoble1 » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:44 am

Thanks. I need all the help I can get.
1. It is "Over the Air"
2. 1.5ghz, 2GB Ram, 1-TB hdd non ssd, X800 video card
Will probably not be doing much recording. Older PC evidently.

Will that remote work with any TV tuner in changing the channels I guess?

choliscott

Post by choliscott » Mon Dec 29, 2014 5:27 am