WMC Is Reporting Service Unavailable on ALL Channels

rpammons

HTPC Specs: Show details

WMC Is Reporting Service Unavailable on ALL Channels

Post by rpammons » Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:19 am

My problem is similar to the single channel problem, except it is ALL channels. I have tried what you suggested and worked for that person, but it didn't' work for me. My problem surfaced about the time his did; I wonder whether a Windows update I did between the last success and the first failure may have caused a problem, or switching from Norton to McAfee for my virus protection.

When I go to edit source, it shows two entries for each channel, one associated with each tuner. There are no extra copies.

The long version:
I have been recording using WMC just fine for a couple of months. However it started not recording a few days ago- just leaving a 512KB file with the name, but no video, and apparently does not think it has an input signal.
When I try to watch live TV on WMC to see if WMC is getting the signal, I get the error message "Service Is Not Available. There is currently no TV signal detected for this channel. Channel may be temporarily off the air. Try again later." When a show was supposed to start, the same error message popped up that there was no signal, so it would not be recorded (paraphrasing - the error message was only up for a few seconds).
The TV station(s) are on the air. I am using SiliconDust Homerun ATSC Digital TV tuners (two) and they test out fine. I can watch live TV on them. WMC reports that their signal strength is good. to excellent on all channels.
I ran "Settings/TV/TV Signal/setup TV Signal" on WMC again. It examined TV signals, found the tuners. I configured WMC with the tuners and got a very fast response that WMC was configured with the tuners.
No change - no live TV. I then went into setup again and checked Digital TV antenna signal strength. Good on all channels.
Still no Live TV and the same error message.