Playready won't update!

rockbottom73

HTPC Specs: Show details

Playready won't update!

Post by rockbottom73 » Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:20 pm

I have an old HTPC in the bedroom that I've been using for a couple of years now with a ceton tuner with minimal problems. I decided to buy a laptop to use in the living room with media center. The laptop came with Windows 7 preloaded and discs to upgrade to Windows 8. I decided to try Windows 8 and installed it. Setup media center with no problems then started to have problems with the laptop randomly freezing for up to 5 minutes. Found out it was driver problem but decided to restore to factory settings and use Windows 7. After restoring I tried to setup media center and couldn't get playready to update. Fought with it for a while with no luck and decided to take a break and use the old HTPC only to find that it now asks me to update playready too but it won't update now either. I've searched and tried every fix I can find for the last 2 weeks with no luck. I've tried the ResetDRM utility, deleting playready files, uninstalling playready, checking my time and date, and probably other things that I've forgot by now. I finally gave up and did a clean reinstall on the laptop but it still wouldn't work. Also did a clean reinstall of the HTPC on a new partition but it still won't update. I'm completely out of ideas for anything else to try. Anyone have any suggestions on what the problem is or what else to try? Thanks in advance.

mdavej

Post by mdavej » Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:12 pm

You also have to run Digital Cable Advisor. Even if your setup seems to work without it, there are some hidden things it does that are essential to DRM working properly.

Also, running the following in IE worked for me when all else failed:
http://drmlicense.one.microsoft.com/Ind ... ndivit.asp

The ResetDRM utility can bite you too. It will keep on resetting DRM until you uninstall it. So run it once, then uninstall, then try Play Ready again.