What is the future for my home media setup?

geoffneck

HTPC Specs: Show details

What is the future for my home media setup?

Post by geoffneck » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:56 am

I've been using media center for many years now and have a main server feeding my media room and two Xbox extenders in other rooms.

I've been reading about Xbox One and also the direction MS are pushing home entertainment. This does not seem to involve WMC in the way I use it.

Apparently XBox One does not support WMC as an extender. I'm not too sure how Xbox One works in the UK yet with TV, but this is making me look at my options, and I dont seem to find much choice out there. All I want is WMC. It is an all in one package. I don't want to invest in something that involves addons to record TV, or import a guide, or download my cover art. WMC does all that.

Is there another alternative out there?

Basic requirements:
1. Record/watch terrestrial TV
2. Compile a movie library with cover art info
3. collate music library
4. access family photos
5. have the ability to do all the above in a different room (must have the ability to view and interact with the TV guide) via an extender of some sort (Nettop PC or something noise free).

adam1991

Post by adam1991 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:23 pm

All I want is WMC. It is an all in one package. I don't want to invest in something that involves addons to record TV, or import a guide, or download my cover art. WMC does all that.
So why don't you keep using it?

makryger

Post by makryger » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:38 pm

^+1

The question of what will be the best all in one system in a post wmc world is a valid one. But no one is forcing you to upgrade from Windows 7, and no one is forcing you to throw out your extenders. I suspect wmc will be a functional platform for at least the next 5 years. Probably when something happens to guide support (though there are work arounds) or loss of cable card support.