DLNA - HDHR vs Ceton

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
koberhol

HTPC Specs: Show details

DLNA - HDHR vs Ceton

Post by koberhol » Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:16 pm

Please excuse me as I am a Novice at best when it comes to HTPC. I just entered this arena 6 months ago... Just long enough to witness the whole Ceton debacle with Echo-gate (Android project). Now being the noob that I am I see that Silicone Dust is upgrading their software to support DLNA. Yeah I know that's old news for 99.9% of you. So I look into what DLNA is. Hmmm what a concept! Sounds like the perfect solution for Smart TVs not needing an Extender!!!!

So please correct me if I understand this wrong.. But I think I clearly hear the Fat Lady Singing if this is true and Ceton is not planning to support the like!!! Sorry I couldn't resist the well deserved slam. But seriously is it fact that I could all together eliminate the extender for live tv and dvr access??

P.S. My infinitv-Eth6 / Echo experience wasn't too bad until 2 months ago when I got my first full Echo lock-up. Now I'm getting Bi-Daily Echo oddities that require reboots as I was pushed back to 304 firmware. This has reduced my thought process to "well.. atleast it didn't lock up again!" so sad... how my expectations have come to a new low. My girlfriend laughs when I read her all the posts that end up of saying "Fails Wife Approval". No wonder the family pet has more status than the buffoon that suggested an HTPC would be awesome.

makryger

Post by makryger » Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:24 pm