Total Noob Question re: Capabilities of WMC

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
MZmuda

HTPC Specs: Show details

Total Noob Question re: Capabilities of WMC

Post by MZmuda » Fri Sep 02, 2011 6:24 pm

Hi,

I'm totally new to Windows Media Center; haven't done anything with it yet. (Actually planning on changing cable carriers because the bill has become so high.)

Here's what I'm wondering:

I'd like to set up a system where I have the cable come in to the house in one room (the basement) where it's attached to a CETON card and goes into WMC. I'd then like to be able to live stream four different channels to four different TVs. (I'm looking to have five TVs on the network, but only 4 would be watched at any given time.)

Questions:
1: Is this sort of setup even possible?
2: Am I overtaxing any of the components? (ie: will I need a supercharged, water-cooled i7 2600 processor to serve as the server, or will a Celeron chip do the job? [not that I'm thinking about using a Celeron... just asking for power requirements here.])
3: How many TVs (extenders) can WMC support? (Both in total and at any given time?) [ie: is there a limit to the number of TVs I can register on the network? Also, how many can be active at any one time?]
4: Other than an XBOX 360, can someone give me a clue as to who else makes extenders? (Ideally, I'm looking for something that turns on VERY quickly, so using a computer is out of the question, since it needs to boot [unless it can sleep, etc...] I'm actually looking to replace my "cable boxes" with the extender, fyi.)
5: With WMC, can it act as a DVR (ie: can I be watching live TV, pause it, and rewind it? Also, what is the rewind time?)
6: Last question: How long does it take to change channels using a WMC network as I've described? (ie: right now, my TIVO takes about 3-5 seconds to change the channel, buffer the video, and display it. How well does WMC fare?)