WMC weather using Relaunch and Google Chrome

vvicked

HTPC Specs: Show details

WMC weather using Relaunch and Google Chrome

Post by vvicked » Wed May 22, 2013 3:38 am

I recently reformatted my WMC PC and thought I might try out some of the weather plugins again. I came to find out that Heatwave doesn't work anymore and mceWeather wasn't accurate for my location. I started playing around and finally find a somewhat viable alternative to those two plugins. It's not the best solution but it works for me. I thought I might share it with the members. My solution is using Relaunch to launch Google Chrome plugin(s). You won't be able use the media center remote to control the Chrome webpage. However, a decent amount of information is already displayed so you don't really need the media center remote to navigate.

1) Install Google Chrome if it's not already installed.
2) Goto the Chrome web store and install whatever weather plugins you like. I personally installed The Weather Channel and Weather Underground because they are graphically rich and look nice on the TV.
3) Get the urls for your plugins that include the city/location.
a) Weather Underground: Launch the Weather Underground Chrome plugin and do a search for your city. When that's done, save the URL. Mine was: "http://chrome.wunderground.com/auto/chr ... uery=48044"
b) Weatherbug: This is more difficult because the URL is hidden. Launch the Weatherbug Chrome plugin and select/search for your city. After the page has loaded, right mouse click on the page and select "Inspect Element". This will bring up the Chrome web inspector. In the web inspector, select the "Resources" tab. One the left side of the web inspector, expand the "Frames" folder, then expand the (index.html) folder. When you see the "index.html" file, right mouse click on "index.html" and select "Copy Link Address". My copied link URL was: "chrome-extension://ihdkejbciahopmbagpnjmmkkdpfpaaak/index.html"