Total noob HTPC/DVR build, need advice!

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
Patton

HTPC Specs: Show details

Total noob HTPC/DVR build, need advice!

Post by Patton » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:50 am

Posted over in AVS as well, but thought I'd ask you guys since you all built around WMC:

Long time reader, first time poster. Have become fed up with TWC ridiculous fees and even worse equipment, so I am considering my first build ever. Most of this is pretty foreign to me, since I've been an Apple person since the old IIgs, so I've never looked into tinkering too much with hardware. I do have more experienced friends who have offered to lend a hand, and I'm a quick learner, so I think I can pull this off. So far, these are my goals:

-Build an HTPC that will be used specifically for watching and recording live HD cable. As of right now, find the Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCIe very appealing. The only other thing I'm considering is trying to integrate Netflix and/or Amazon video into WMC if at all possible.

-Build it so that I can use an extender in the future. At my current residence I don't have a wired network, but down the road I will, and I guess I can always hold out hope wireless technology will progress exponentially in the next few years. I have 2 360s just begging to be used as extenders, but that can wait.