Newbie Echo. Weird network issue

Talk with fellow members about Ceton's Media Center Extender.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
docluv01

HTPC Specs: Show details

Newbie Echo. Weird network issue

Post by docluv01 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:57 am

Hey Guys

Ok, SO i'm a newbie...

Finally got this working, and I noticed a few things:

1) WHen you turn it off, it literally turns the unit off, and you have to wait for it to boot back up. I'm guessing most people just hit the stop button, and leave it on?

2) WHenever I turn the unit "off", my pc nic card locks up. I have to disable and re-enable. Is this normal? I have both plugged into a linksys 8 port gigabit switch. (NIC is onboard Intel Gigabit from Asus MB)

3) Am I better off putting my extenders on a separate LAN? My pc has 2 nics...I can use 2nd nic for just Extenders...(using some kind of dhcp prog)

Thanks in advance!

Motz

Post by Motz » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:20 am

1.) I personally just hit the stop button and leave it on (I also do this with htpc). Currently there is no "sleep" type mode which would keep the active connection.
2.) That is a bit odd, i would make sure you have the latest NIC driver from asus's website.
3.) Not positive, that stuff is a bit over my head, perhaps other can chime in with networking advice.
I Write, Code, and Tweet

hub1

Post by hub1 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:33 am

Motz wrote:1.) I personally just hit the stop button and leave it on (I also do this with htpc). Currently there is no "sleep" type mode which would keep the active connection.
2.) That is a bit odd, i would make sure you have the latest NIC driver from asus's website.
3.) Not positive, that stuff is a bit over my head, perhaps other can chime in with networking advice.