Stuck in Recovery

Talk with fellow members about Ceton's Media Center Extender.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
mikefromnj

HTPC Specs: Show details

Stuck in Recovery

Post by mikefromnj » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:34 pm

I have been using WMC for quite a few years. I currently have 6 Linksys DMA2100 deployed around the house. I want to upgrade them all to Echos eventually. I purchased 2 from Amazon that arrived 2 days ago. Neither one works out of the box. I contacted Ceton support yesterday and they told me how to try to have the devices recover. That did not work. I contacted Ceton today again this morning and have not heard back from them all day. All I want is access to the desktop recovery to see if that will work. Six hours later and no response from them.

I know Ceton claims that their support ticket system is better than phone support but if you claim to be open all day on Saturday I would think you could respond to a simple request within 6 or 8 hours. Maybe I am expecting to much. Anyway, can anyone offer advice on how I might get these 2 extenders to work? One has no HDMI output whatsoever and the other gets stuck on Recovery for hours on end. I submitted the Mac addresses to Ceton.

On a side note when I first hooked up the Ceton to my network all of my Linksys Extenders went offline and would not reconnect until I rebooted all of my routers and switches. Very odd.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

kmeleon

Post by kmeleon » Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:16 am

You're not alone, I got my echo from amazon Friday night. Hooked it up, same as you. Bricked. Can't get it to recover. So I submitted a ticket this morning at 930am EST and I never got a reply today either. There website says they're open 9am-6pm PST for tech support. If they were open today and we didn't receive help for our tickets, that's pretty lame support.