Moved to USA from UK- any suggestions for MCE...

Chat with other TGB members about whatever is on your mind.
cjmccarthy72

HTPC Specs: Show details

Moved to USA from UK- any suggestions for MCE...

Post by cjmccarthy72 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:46 pm

Title kind of says it all- I have moved from the UK to the USA- Texas in fact. I have a MCE HTPC and am asking for any tips.

At the moment I have just reawakened it from how it was in the UK. I have it plugged into my TV, and the TV is plugged into cable- basic package from Charter.

1. I don't particularly want to do a full reinstall- but would there be advantages to resetting it to USA configuaration/is there of making my PC have USA settings for MCE without doing a full reinstall.

2. How about TV on the MCE in the USA- I am an absolute novice and have seen mention of products from Celton but don't understand them. My PC has no spare PCI slots and so TV would have to come via USB sources. I used to use Freesat and Freeview HD on my PC back in the UK

3. Anyone from the Dallas/Fort Worth region know of any good PC shops- equivalent of Maplins in the UK. BestBuy didn't really impress with its components- I need "Mickey Mouse" and "Kettle" leads with American plugs on them.

4. I will try and research how to get a British internet address so as to watch BBC iplayer- but any easy tips?

5. Anything else I am missing?

Many thanks in advance for any help!

barnabas1969

Post by barnabas1969 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:05 pm

I would think that you should not need to reinstall Windows. You should go into Control Panel -> Region and Language to change your Country to US, and then go through Media Center setup to change your location to your current ZIP (postal) code so that Media Center can download the correct guide listings.