Building first WHS.. Need suggestions..

Talk about setting up your home network.
newfiend

HTPC Specs: Show details

Building first WHS.. Need suggestions..

Post by newfiend » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:42 am

Ok, Well I have decided to work on adding a WHS to my setup. I mainly need it for media storage and backups of the main PC's in the house. I have 3 Pc's plus the HTPC which is quickly running low on storage space for movies etc..

I have never built a server so consider me a complete noob and any input you guys have would be appreciated. :D

What I have:
Intel E6600 (Socket 775) CPU
I have a Intel DG965OT board that came out of an old Gateway PC. It works fine but I am not a huge fan of the board... Think I may replace it with something better.
I have a Antec PSU (spare part from an older build still works fine) (I believe it's 500 Watts it's been awhile since I looked at it)

What I need:
A case,.. I have considered this one here : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811152123 the case needs to be short (and black) as I want to place it on the bottom shelf under my TV and I am not into a rack mount of any type at the moment.

HDD's. I will most likely start with a 2TB drive (probably a WD Black Drive) and add more as I go...

A version of WHS.. I have no Idea what version is best.. So I need your suggestions on what one to get and how to set this up to work best. All the PC's in the home are running Windows 7.

RAM.. This I know will depend on what board you guys suggest I get and How much RAM would you say it would need? I was told a small amount would suffice as it's mainly a storage unit for media (2GB?)

Mainboard.. Suggestions would be appreciated...Thanks.

Questions..
Do I need a dedicated drive for the OS? If so should i get an SSD? Or should I just buy the 2TB and install WHS on that?

When adding more drives what configuration should I use so I can easily add another drive?