Client side "connect error"

Talk about setting up your home network.
Crash2009

HTPC Specs: Show details

Client side "connect error"

Post by Crash2009 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:03 pm

Anybody got any ideas to get through or around this one. I have rebooted both server and clients and looked for pending file renames in the registry. I have tried to connect from 3 different workstations (M4A780PRO Ultimate 64 bit) (DELL Ultimate 64 bit) and (SONY Ultimate 32 bit). I get the same error on all three. I have not tried to connect from either of the two XP 32 bit workstations. All of the workstations are members of the UPTOWN workgroup.

I don't know a lot about networking, and this is my first attempt at having a server. The server is an old IBM 325 Eserver with just enough upgrade to run WHS 2011. I pulled it out of the scrap pile to get some experience with WHS 2011.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments
CONNECT006.jpg
CONNECT005.jpg
CONNECT003.jpg

Venom51

Post by Venom51 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:56 pm

The time on your server is off. Check the time and time zones on all the machines.

If that fails to solve the issue try this one.

http://blogchampion.com/2011/06/25/how- ... -progress/

Crash2009

Post by Crash2009 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:10 pm

Venom51 wrote:The time on your server is off. Check the time and time zones on all the machines.

The time was off (by 20 seconds) How observant of you to notice the time of the screencap (9am) and the time of the post (noon) I was wondering what led you to the time suggestion. After viewing your other suggestion, I found an Update reminder in the Alert Viewer. 4 updates sitting there since midnight. Will try to connect client to server after update completion.

Checked the registry again. I have no "PendingFileRenameOperations" to rename. All I have in the place the blogchampion suggested was FileRenameOperations. NO "Pending"

Venom51

Post by Venom51 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:59 pm

Crash2009 wrote: