Building a Silent System

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
viewpoint

HTPC Specs: Show details

Building a Silent System

Post by viewpoint » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:56 pm

Hi everyone,

I am looking to build a new Win7 WMC system for my living room. I want to use a FreeviewHD/FreesatHD combo card from Blackgold ideally.

I was looking to build it with a Shuttle SH67H3, 2500K i5 processor, 60GB SSD for OS, 2TB storage, blu-ray writer, 5.1 speakers, 4GB RAM.

HOWEVER, I am concerned about a couple of things:
1. Noise
2. Heat
3. Potential for upgrade.

I want to locate the unit in the living room under the TV with an HDMI connection.

So I thought about building a machine from scratch with a bigger case, silent PSU and fans etc. I have never built anything so detailed before. My experience is in building small Shuttle machines for CCTV PCI cards.

Would someone be able to help me out with a spec that would result in a silent machine with spec similar to this that I sourced from Ebuyer or give me ideas on how I can improve the spec - OR EVEN DOWNGRADE IT TO SAVE SOME COSTS!:

Shuttle SH67H3 261440 £180.79
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333MHz i5 Memory Module CL9 1.5V 147903 £7.49
Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB Cache OEM Processor 244099 £139.29
WD 2TB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s Caviar Green Hard Drive - 64MB Cache - WD20EARX 264274 £83.33
Corsair 60GB Force GT SSD - 2.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s - Read 555MB/s Write 495MB/s 273567 £66.65
LG BH10LS38 10x BD-RW with DVD±RW DL & RAM Lightscribe SATA Blu-Ray Drive - OEM Black

Beradon

Post by Beradon » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:10 pm

viewpoint wrote:Hi everyone,

I am looking to build a new Win7 WMC system for my living room. I want to use a FreeviewHD/FreesatHD combo card from Blackgold ideally.

I was looking to build it with a Shuttle SH67H3, 2500K i5 processor, 60GB SSD for OS, 2TB storage, blu-ray writer, 5.1 speakers, 4GB RAM.

HOWEVER, I am concerned about a couple of things:
1. Noise
2. Heat