Best (cheapest) Extender Option for Viewing TV & DVR

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
QingGuy

HTPC Specs: Show details

Best (cheapest) Extender Option for Viewing TV & DVR

Post by QingGuy » Sun Mar 11, 2012 7:38 pm

I'm new to HTPC, just did my first build and it's working great. Now I'm going to add a tuner and two extenders (wireless) to replace the three boxes I'm currently renting from Comcast. I need two extenders whos' primary function will be to watch live TV and some recorded cable content on the HTPC HD. I'm not as worried about watching MKVs etc. on these two extenders. What's the best low cost option for this type of use? I'd hate to buy Xbox 360s just to watch TV on these two machines. Do any of the media boxes like WD HD Live or Roku work?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

lithium630

Post by lithium630 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 9:26 pm

QingGuy wrote:I'm new to HTPC, just did my first build and it's working great. Now I'm going to add a tuner and two extenders (wireless) to replace the three boxes I'm currently renting from Comcast. I need two extenders whos' primary function will be to watch live TV and some recorded cable content on the HTPC HD. I'm not as worried about watching MKVs etc. on these two extenders. What's the best low cost option for this type of use? I'd hate to buy Xbox 360s just to watch TV on these two machines. Do any of the media boxes like WD HD Live or Roku work?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.