Client HTTP link setup

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: https://garyan2.github.io/ <> Setup guide here: https://garyan2.github.io/install.html
EdJ

HTPC Specs: Show details

Client HTTP link setup

Post by EdJ » Wed Mar 06, 2024 7:23 pm

Hi all,

I've been using epg123 for several years (thanks Gary!) and have run into an issue that I've not been able to figure out. I have a new Win11 HTPC with WMC that runs epg123 in "Full Mode." Additionally, I have a laptop with WMC running on a Win10 and only the epg123 Client installed. Prior to the new HTPC build, I had Win10 server running epg123 in Full Mode, and I was able to set up the laptop via the config GUI that created the HTTP connection to the MXF file. With the new HTPC, I am no longer finding it published in the config GUI, so I have to point the client at a mapped drive locally or the original network shared file on the HTPC. (Which has known issues due to permissions that I still haven't figured out either...)

My question - is there a way to force the HTPC to "publish" itself as the epg123 server?

I know that it can work (it did on the old server), and I'm guessing that it's something relatively easy that I've not properly configured or that I'm just missing. Any and all suggestions and pointers welcome!

Thanks,
Last edited by EdJ on Thu Mar 07, 2024 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EJ
Early adopter of WMC with Windows XP and MCE

EdJ

Post by EdJ » Wed Mar 06, 2024 7:56 pm

Additional info...

- HTPC: Win11 Pro
- Laptop: Win10 Home
- epg123: 1.8.2.9
EJ

garyan2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:09 am

It is not in the config GUI. With the client, delete your current task and then click the textbox next to the Automatch checkbox. It will then search for the new epg123 server (make sure it is on) and then create the task once it is found.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

EdJ