New/replacement PC set up

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
alect71

HTPC Specs: Show details

New/replacement PC set up

Post by alect71 » Mon Feb 26, 2024 5:26 am

I have been running WMC in Win 8-10 for some years. Recently my existing PC died, so I have obtained a replacement PC and installed WMC on it.

In order to complete setup, I set "NO" to "internet always available" so that it wouldn't get stuck on trying to download EPG from MS. But now there is no EPG. On the standard TV reception, the EPG is sent along with the broadcast (DTV). Does this not come into WMC? I also subscribe to a local remote recording platform/app (IceTV) which has its own EPG, but that's not coming up either. (I am in Australia)

While trying to complete WMC setup I did download EPG123, but in the end didn't have to use (as I have never used it before). So am I forced to use EPG123?

prsa01

Post by prsa01 » Mon Feb 26, 2024 11:33 am

You will need to collect epg from either ota or a service. epgCollector is an option for getting it from the ota feed. epg123 along with schedules direct is the most straightforward option and gets you much more/better guide data. Epg123 is free but schedule direct has a small yearly charge. There are other options as well but these are the 2 most common.

Do some reading in the wmc epg section of this forum for details.

IT Troll

Post by IT Troll » Mon Feb 26, 2024 12:38 pm

If you were previously only using EPG from OTA broadcasts, then it should be possible to do the same with your new install.
I'm not familiar with TV systems in Australia, but in the UK, Media Center can extract the EPG from OTA SD channels (DVB-T).
Media Center cannot however extract the EPG from HD channels (DVB-T2) which have some rudimentary encryption. In which case a third-party tool is required.
As prsa101 said, EPG123 is the best solution, with the best data, but has a cost.