Where do you view Tuner usage?

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
Post Reply
Gilrock

Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:42 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Where do you view Tuner usage?

#1

Post by Gilrock » Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:36 pm

I thought the Ceton documentation talked about being able to assign tuners with the main version and use pooled tuners with the beta version. I'm pretty sure I didn't install the beta version so I'm curious where can I look to find out what tuners are assigned where? I've accessed the Ceton Infinitv Eth 6 from 2 WMC PC's and one XBox 360 and they all just worked without me configuring any tuner assignments. I've also seen threads where people list the signal levels for all the tuners. I don't see a tab in the Ceton Diagnostics software that shows that info either.

Gil

erkotz

Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by erkotz » Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:32 pm

Gilrock wrote:I thought the Ceton documentation talked about being able to assign tuners with the main version and use pooled tuners with the beta version. I'm pretty sure I didn't install the beta version so I'm curious where can I look to find out what tuners are assigned where? I've accessed the Ceton Infinitv Eth 6 from 2 WMC PC's and one XBox 360 and they all just worked without me configuring any tuner assignments. I've also seen threads where people list the signal levels for all the tuners. I don't see a tab in the Ceton Diagnostics software that shows that info either.

Gil
The InfiniTV 6 ETH does not have static assignment of tuners. They are assigned dynamically on a first-come, first-served basis.
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

JohnW248

Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by JohnW248 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:09 pm

When I set-up my tuner, I assigned tuners 1,2,3 to one machine and ran TV set-up with those three tuners and assigned 4,5,6 to another machine with tv set-up. Each machine can only see those tuners I assigned in TV set-up. So how would dynamic tuner pooling change what I did? With SD Prime I just assign all three tuners to a couple of machine and they can fight for what's available but I didn't do that with the Ceton device.

Could you expand on your explanation taking into account TV set-up in Media Center?

richard1980

Posts: 2623
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:15 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by richard1980 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:23 am

I think what erkotz is trying to say is the InfiniTV6 ETH does not assign a tuner to a single PC like the InfiniTV4. With the InfiniTV4, once you assign a tuner to a PC, no other PC can use that tuner. But as far as the InfiniTV6 ETH is concerned, any PC on the network is allowed to access any of the 6 tuners. If you were to add a 3rd PC to your setup, you could go through TV setup and configure it to use any of the 6 tuners.

JohnW248

Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by JohnW248 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 2:35 pm

Then to answer the OP question on checking tuner usage, he can use this little html code and open it in a browser. It is necessary to change the IP address to the local IP address of the users tuner. Open the file in notepad or some other text editor and do a search and replace for 192.168.0.32 to your local tuner address. Just refresh the page and it'll show the tuners in use, channel, copy protection, temp and you can add whatever other item you're interested in. Hopefully this works, the system wouldn't let me attach it as a file.

start -----
<html>
<body>
<div class='header'>Ceton InfiniTV Temperatures</div>
<table>
<tr>
<td width=100>Temp</td>
<td width=100>Signal Level</td>
<td width=100>SNR</td>
<td width=100>Playback</td>
<td width=100>Frequency</td>
<td width=100>Modulation</td>
<td width=200>Copy Protection</td>
<td width=100>Channel</td>
</tr>
</table>
<div id="variable_row">
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #1:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=av&v=TransportState'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=diag& ... tionStatus'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=0&s=cas&v ... nnelNumber'>
</iframe>
</div>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #2:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=av&v=TransportState'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=diag& ... tionStatus'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=1&s=cas&v ... nnelNumber'>
</iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #3:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=av&v=TransportState'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=diag& ... tionStatus'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=2&s=cas&v ... nnelNumber'>
</iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #4:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=av&v=TransportState'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=diag& ... tionStatus'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=3&s=cas&v ... nnelNumber'>
</iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #5:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=av&v=TransportState'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=diag& ... tionStatus'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=4&s=cas&v ... nnelNumber'>
</iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #6:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=av&v=TransportState'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=diag& ... tionStatus'>
</iframe>
<iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.32/get_var?i=5&s=cas&v ... nnelNumber'>
</iframe>
</div>
</body>
</html>
end -----

Gilrock

Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:42 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Gilrock » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:10 am

Thanks...I finally got around to testing that HTML and it worked fine. I also discovered in the Ceton Diagnostics Tool on the Devices tab there is a button labelled Go to Infinitv Device Webpage. That has a lot of the same info but each channel is on a different tab so the HTML is actually a little easier.

My setup has started to be somewhat annoying. I've had several recordings fail saying it couldn't tune to the channel but I'm always able to immediately manually go there in the guide and they play just fine. And in the past couple days I've had channels not display and get messages about Playready not updating. Sometimes hitting the Update button fixes it and another time exiting Media Center and coming back in seemed to fix it. How often does that stupid thing need to update....I've had 3 issues with it in 2 days.

Thanks,
Gil

JohnJ9

Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:32 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by JohnJ9 » Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:54 pm

This posting by JohnW above is a very handy script to play with. Are there get_var calls that will fetch the IP and port for the system viewing a tuner? I see the post data in the form for the Tuner tab on the Ceton diags, but would love to pull this information easily without doing a POST. Also, is there a complete list somewhere of the info that can be fetched and driven through the HTTP interface? Thanks.

JohnW248

Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by JohnW248 » Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:50 pm

Gilrock wrote:Thanks...I finally got around to testing that HTML and it worked fine. I also discovered in the Ceton Diagnostics Tool on the Devices tab there is a button labelled Go to Infinitv Device Webpage. That has a lot of the same info but each channel is on a different tab so the HTML is actually a little easier.

My setup has started to be somewhat annoying. I've had several recordings fail saying it couldn't tune to the channel but I'm always able to immediately manually go there in the guide and they play just fine. And in the past couple days I've had channels not display and get messages about Playready not updating. Sometimes hitting the Update button fixes it and another time exiting Media Center and coming back in seemed to fix it. How often does that stupid thing need to update....I've had 3 issues with it in 2 days.

Thanks,
Gil
What's your headend using, Moto or Cisco? Also do you have SDV? I ran into the playready issue once a couple of years ago and it was eventually a problem with the tuner itself. You should start pulling diagnostic scans and open a ticket when you get the message and another scan after you've done the update and it works so that the tech support guys can start to see if there is anything going on that shouldn't be. My card also started losing its pairing on a reboot and I had to keep calling for hit to get it running again. This was part of the same problem and something with a memory chip on the tuner had gone astray and wan't holding data.

JohnW248

Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by JohnW248 » Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:53 pm

JohnJ9 wrote:This posting by JohnW above is a very handy script to play with. Are there get_var calls that will fetch the IP and port for the system viewing a tuner? I see the post data in the form for the Tuner tab on the Ceton diags, but would love to pull this information easily without doing a POST. Also, is there a complete list somewhere of the info that can be fetched and driven through the HTTP interface? Thanks.
don't know if there is any get_var call, but you can always poll all the IPs on a computer by opening a command prompt and typing:

arp -a

which will return all the IP addresses seen by that computer and you'll have to sort out which one is your tuner. I make up a local IP address log with all my devices listed since at current count it's at 50 and it makes for a quick reference when something decides to collide with something else.

JohnJ9

Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:32 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by JohnJ9 » Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:50 pm

I'm toying with little things like keeping a history of the data and pumping it into an XML database for some other side work I'm doing for some testing. Nothing in particular, but I thought it was a nice set of data I might be curious about and it would keep growing and giving me something to mess with, instead of making up fake data over and over again. I'll probably end up using the JSON interface, but I was hoping more of this was visible through pure HTTP GET calls for quick viewing and visual verification. A full set of get_var options would give me an idea what else I could do quickly.

JohnW248

Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by JohnW248 » Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:37 am

The version I'm using now has an added column for WMDRM status. You can cull your get_var by just opening the web gui page and then with IE 11 click on view and then source and you'll see all the calls.

Post Reply