HD Homerun Questions

Ask about SiliconDusts HomeRun tuners here.
joeer77

HTPC Specs: Show details

HD Homerun Questions

Post by joeer77 » Tue Sep 15, 2020 6:00 pm

Hi Everyone. Thinking about cutting the cord. I've been running two Ceton cable cards on WMC since 2011 and I'm fed up with basic TV pricing with Comcast.

My plan is to ditch my two Ceton InfiniTV 4 cards out of my Windows 7 WMC HTPC and switch to HD Homerun 2 or 4 tuner network tuner. I will continue using EPG123 and WMC as much as possible. I will also use my 2 Xbox 360s as extenders. Some questions I have:

1. I assume Windows 7 WMC will recognize the HD homerun tuner without issue after I install Homerun drivers?
2. Do you have to assign each tuner to WMC PC like with Ceton or are they floating? This may affect if I purchase the 2 or 4 tuner version. I also read a review on Amazon where each watching device permanently consumes a tuner (Ipad, Iphone, etc). Is that right or are they floating for whichever device wants to use it? There will only be 5 channels I want to watch so leaning towards the 2 tuner card.
3. I have two other Windows 7 PCs on my network I would like to be able to watch TV on. With Ceton I had to assign a tuner for each remote PC to watch in WMC (Ceton tuner pooling). With HD Homerun, can I watch TV just using HD Homerun software and not tie up a tuner?
4. My antenna TV reception is best in a different part of the house than where my HTPC is. My plan was to connect HD Homerun to a wireless bridge 5ghz/AC band and send to router. Has anyone tried that? Does it work? Does HD homerun have built in 5ghz/AC band? Is it good?

Thanks in advance!

stuartm

Post by stuartm » Tue Sep 15, 2020 6:51 pm

1. yes WMC will see the tuners. of course you will need to rerun tuner setup in WMC to be able to use the tuners.
2. You can use them as pooled tuners and WMC should try each tuner you have configured in tuner setup until it finds one not in use.