Ceton Cards working on Windows 10 and Plex

Ask fellow members about Ceton's infiniTV tuners here.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.
Post Reply
mjlaris

Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:04 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Ceton Cards working on Windows 10 and Plex

#1

Post by mjlaris » Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:54 am

A member of the Plex forums wrote a little proxy program that causes the Ceton cards to be recognized as an HDhomerun device. Go to https://github.com/craigmox/cetonproxy/releases and download the latest version. It works great.

Greenhorn

Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 5:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Greenhorn » Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:01 pm

I have a USB Ceton version and I’m stuck and can’t figure out what to enter “Ceton tuner address.” Is this program only for pcie and network version?

adam1991

Posts: 2877
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by adam1991 » Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:17 pm

It shouldn't be. The Ceton tuner is a network device, regardless of its physical connectivity into your system. And it has a network address.

Greenhorn

Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 5:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Greenhorn » Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:04 pm

I’ve entered IPv4 DHCP server address and it’s now seeing 4 tuners. Holy moly, this thing actually works! I just ordered Ceton 6 network tuner off eBay and while waiting it to arrive I’ll be testing Plex DVR features. As I understand correctly, Plex can not time shift live TV and DRM channel such as HBO are forbidden. That’s fine with me as long as I can upgrade to Windows 10 and retire my xbox360 extenders. 😀

choliscott

Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:56 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by choliscott » Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:27 am

Thank you for mentioning this. I tried this and have no problems thus far, using my Infinitv 6 Pci. I did try installing the app on another computer to see if I could get my ETH to work, but it couldn't find it (including running the app twice from different folders, but it didn't find it either).

I did a search on EBay for Ceton tuners and it didn't appear to be a lot for sale

Post Reply