Page 1 of 1

Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:30 pm
by FMinMI
Was wondering people's thoughts as to which of the Ceton products is the most 'stable'.

I have been fighting with my ETH6-based recording system (see my post viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12827 if interested) and plan to buy yet another interface for my Win7 PVR server to see if my issue is hardware-related. Question is which one to try.

Do folks find the PCIe a better option? Anything specific to look for (certain hardware version, mfg date, etc)? I have a Moto cable card and tuning adapter from Spectrum.

Thanks

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:41 pm
by Scallica
FMinMI wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:30 pm
Was wondering people's thoughts as to which of the Ceton products is the most 'stable'.
None of them. That's why they went out of business.

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:46 pm
by FMinMI
Scallica wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:41 pm
FMinMI wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:30 pm
Was wondering people's thoughts as to which of the Ceton products is the most 'stable'.
None of them. That's why they went out of business.
:-) ...and I would switch to SiliconDust IF they ever came out with their 6 tuner cable card device... but we all know that the 2018 interface is in limbo and I need something now (other than paying Spectrum even more for their DVR system).

Thanks for the reply however.

Frank in Michigan

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:58 pm
by Scallica
If you don't want to wait for Silicondust's 6-tuner, get a used Tivo Roamio Plus/Pro on ebay with lifetime. They both have 6 tuners.

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:41 pm
by FMinMI
Scallica wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:58 pm
If you don't want to wait for Silicondust's 6-tuner, get a used Tivo Roamio Plus/Pro on ebay with lifetime. They both have 6 tuners.
Thanks for the suggestion. From what I just read, am I correct that the only way to watch shows recorded on the Tivo is via the Tivo unit itself OR only if streamed to an iOS device?

Right now, I record on the 'server' with WMC, then use one of 3 computers on the network (w/WMC) connected to our TVs to play the shows OR using VLC media player on our laptops (after copying them over) when we travel. This has worked fine with all channels we record sans BBC, which has some stupid copy protection.

Can one move files off the Tivo and watch them, either via conversion (somehow) to .wmv files or with VLC and a plug in?

I am open to ANY new option to allow recording and later playback.

Thanks again!

Frank in Michigan

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:10 pm
by DavidinCT
I've had a Ceton PCIe 6 tuner for years now. It's very rare that I have any issues with it. There was a stable firmware (not the newest) and it's been running solid for me. I don't even think about it any more.

There is always mixed things with this, There is also a lot of factors on this as well (machine use, other software installed, machine specs, etc) that could cause problems. I know others have had issues but, like I said, mine has been rock solid.

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:40 pm
by Scallica
FMinMI wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:41 pm
Can one move files off the Tivo and watch them, either via conversion (somehow) to .wmv files or with VLC and a plug in?
Yes, if the recording is not copy protected, you can download the recording from the Tivo using the Tivo Desktop software. I believe the Tivo Desktop software only works if the Tivo is running the legacy OS; it doesn't work if the Tivo is running the newer Hydra OS; you can easily downgrade.

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:22 pm
by adam1991
understand, the Ceton PCIe card is functionally a network connection. The difference is, it it functions as its own network card.

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:23 pm
by FMinMI
adam1991 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:22 pm
understand, the Ceton PCIe card is functionally a network connection. The difference is, it it functions as its own network card.
Hmmm. Interesting point. Tell me, would I be better off adding a second gigabit network card to my server and connecting the ETH6 directly to it with a crossover cable to make a 'similar' system (versus first going to a switch, then to the router)? Or won't that work since the router assigns IP addresses and the ETH6 needs that?

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:46 am
by adam1991
Many people did exactly that--create a separate, private network with the ETH6. No router needed. Search the forum--and go WAY back.

I think the consensus was, this is overkill. Just plug it into your network. You should have plenty of bandwidth to support all 6 tuners at once, plus playing over extenders, plus plenty left over for normal household tasks.

My point was, that even the PCIe was a network tuner--with all that means. You could share the tuners out to multiple WMC on the same network, for example.

Re: Infiniti PCIe vs ETH6

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:12 am
by FMinMI
adam1991 wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:46 am
Many people did exactly that--create a separate, private network with the ETH6. No router needed. Search the forum--and go WAY back.

I think the consensus was, this is overkill. Just plug it into your network. You should have plenty of bandwidth to support all 6 tuners at once, plus playing over extenders, plus plenty left over for normal household tasks.

My point was, that even the PCIe was a network tuner--with all that means. You could share the tuners out to multiple WMC on the same network, for example.
Over kill - maybe. Just trying to get rid of anything that might be causing my issues. When I see the error log saying tuner 1 did not see a tuner, then tuner 2 did not see a tuner one minute later, but then tuner 3 did find the tuner and began recording, I can't help but speculate (besides yet a second bad ETH6) some kind of packet conflict causing the fault despite my system with all high-grade, gigabit components. I have my 'new' server just sitting there now; easy to plug the ETH6 into it and let it run for several days to see if I get any errors...

Been also talking with folks on the TiVo forum to see if I want to go that route, given they still are in business.

And of course there is SiliconDust, but worry they are going the same way as Ceton with their going-on-2-year-late-and-still-counting 6 tuner cablecard unit.

Thanks.