I'm done.

Chat with other TGB members about whatever is on your mind.
sailracer

HTPC Specs: Show details

I'm done.

Post by sailracer » Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:38 pm

I've been seeing a lot of "goodbye" messages and am inspired to leave one myself. I've been a long-time lurker but rarely posted here. The info on these forums has been invaluable in helping me save lots of money over the last 8 years by not having to rent cable boxes from Verizon. I want to thank all the contributors for making this possible and convincing me to jump in and give it a try!

I finally had enough programs I wanted to run that required Windows 10, that I decided it was time to build a new computer last month. I moved my old Windows 7 computer over to the TV to run my WMC installation with HDHRPrime cable card tuner (and backup OTA card). I started playing around with WMC on the Windows 10 machine, but couldn't get it to play .wtv files and didn't even try getting the cable card tuner to work after reading about all the difficulties here. The methods to get this all working are starting to get beyond my patience level. Then the last straw was when I was blindsided last night by my program guide being empty on the Win7 machine. I immediately checked these forums and discovered Microsoft stopped support for it on 1/1. So I'm done. I'm done with media center. I'm done with cable TV. Maybe I'll subscribe to YoutubeTV or maybe not if I decide I can live without the two or three shows I watch on cable anymore or if I can't improve on the clunky OTA tuner, EPG and DVR programs I'm using. My new computer can transcode my recordings from .wtv to .mp4 reasonably fast, so there will be a little bit of hassle, but I can maintain my library. As far as I can tell, the only thing I am going to lose is Comedy Central. I could stream the shows off their website, but that's too clunky to do from the couch, so I'll likely just stop watching those shows. If I don't subscribe to YoutubeTV I will save money ($50/